Release Day Picks: August 3rd New Album Highlights


Each week Release Day Picks profiles new LPs and EPs Team JamBase will be checking out on release day Friday. This week we highlight new albums by Jim Lauderdale, Amanda Shires and Houndmouth. Read on for more insight into the records we have all queued up to spin.

Jim Lauderdale – Time Flies

The Scoop: Renowned singer-songwriter Jim Lauderdale is actually releasing two albums today. One is Lauderdale’s first full-length album recorded in 1979 with Roland White in the basement of Earl and Louise Scruggs’ Nashville home. That record was never released and the master tapes went missing until White’s wife recently found them. The other is Time Flies, a set of 11 new songs recorded by the 61-year-old Lauderdale with his longtime collaborator Jay Weaver at Blackbird Studios in Nashville. The follow-up to last year’s The Beatles-inspired LP London Southern includes contributions from The Devil Makes Three’s Pete Bernhard as well as Charles Odie Blackmon and Mando Saenz. Stream the title track, co-written with Saenz, here:

Label: Yep Roc Records

Producer: Jim Lauderdale, Jay Weaver

Number Of Tracks: 11

Running Time: 37:05

Guest Musicians: Charles Odie Blackmon, Mando Saenz, Pete Bernhard


  1. Time Flies
  2. The Road Is A River
  3. Violet
  4. Slow As Molasses
  5. Where The Cars Go By Fast
  6. When I Held The Cards
  7. Wearing Out Your Cool
  8. Wild On Me Fast
  9. While You’re Hoping
  10. It Blows My Mind
  11. If the World’s Still Here Tomorrow

Stream / Download / CD/LP

Amanda Shires – To The Sunset

The Scoop: Texas-native fiddler Amanda Shires reteamed with producer Dave Cobb at the historic RCA Studio A in her current hometown of Nashville to record To The Sunset. Cobb, who also produced 2016’s My Piece Of Land, played bass on its follow-up alongside Shires’ husband Jason Isbell on guitar, Peter Levin on keyboards and Jerry Pentecost on drums. The 10-track album finds Shires’ expanding her sonic palatte. “I had never tried pedals before, and I wanted to change my fiddle sound,” Shires stated. “I’ve been playing this instrument the same way for so long, and playing with pedals is so fun for me!” Check out the video for “Parking Lot Pirouette” — which Shires shot on her phone — below:

Label: Silver Knife/Thirty Tigers

Producer: Dave Cobb

Number Of Tracks: 10

Running Time: 32:20

Guest Musicians: Dave Cobb, Jason Isbell, Peter Levin, Jerry Pentecost


  1. Parking Lot Pirouette
  2. Swimmer
  3. Leave It Alone
  4. Charms
  5. Eve’s Daughter
  6. Break Out the Champagne
  7. Take on the Dark
  8. White Feather
  9. Mirror, Mirror
  10. Wasn’t I Paying Attention?

Stream / Download / CD/LP

Houndmouth – Golden Age

The Scoop: Indiana’s Houndmouth put together the dream team of Shawn Everett and Jonathan Rado to produce their new album. Golden Age marks a huge change for the band as it’s their first LP without Katie Toupin and finds Houndmouth exploring electronic sounds. The 10-track follow-up to 2015’s Little Neon Limelight was recorded at various studios in Los Angeles as well as at Sonic Ranch in Texas. “Golden Age was both eye opening and life changing,” reads a note from the band. “Joining forces with Shawn Everett and Jonathan Rado revealed to us a whole new side of recording and of ourselves.” Check out the video for Golden Age single “This Party” below:

Label: Reprise Records

Producer: Jonathan Rado & Shawn Everett

Number Of Tracks: 10

Running Time: 35:54

Guest Musicians: Jonathan Rado, Pino Palladino, Enrique Tena Padilla, Matthew Myers, Rob Moose, Drew Miller, FIDLAR, Alex Budman


  1. Never Forget
  2. Golden Age
  3. This Party
  4. Strange Love
  5. Waiting For The Night
  6. Coast To Coast
  7. Black Jaguar
  8. Young Again
  9. Modern Love
  10. World Leader

Stream / Download / CD/LP

Compiled by Andy Kahn and Scott Bernstein.