Release Day Picks: April 20th New Album Highlights

By Team JamBase Apr 20, 2018 6:07 am PDT

Each week Release Day Picks profiles new LPs and EPs Team JamBase will be checking out on release day Friday. This week we highlight new albums by Old Crow Medicine Show, A Perfect Circle, Lord Huron and A Big Yes and a small no. Read on for more insight into the records we have all queued up to spin.

Old Crow Medicine Show – Volunteer

The Scoop: Old Crow Medicine Show spent much of 2017 celebrating the 50th anniversary of Bob Dylan’s Blonde On Blonde touring in support of 50 Years Of Blonde On Blonde their live interpretation of the seminal record. With the arrival of 2018, the string band is celebrating another landmark: their 20th anniversary. To mark the occasion, Old Crow signed to Columbia Nashville and headed to the historic RCA Studio A to cut their first album of all-new material since 2014’s Grammy-winning Remedy. Produced by Dave Cobb (John Prine, Chris Stapelton, Jason Isbell), OCMS’ eighth full-length effort Volunteer finds the band delivering their now familiar Americana mix of tight-blended harmonies, hyper-kinetic bluegrass, honky-tonk roots rock and traditional country sounds. Give a listen to “Whirlwind”:

Label: Old Crow Medicine Show / Columbia Nashville

Producer: Dave Cobb

Number Of Tracks: 11

Running Time: 37:50

Guest Musicians: Dave Cobb, Joe Andrews


  1. Flicker & Shine
  2. A World Away
  3. Child Of The Mississippi
  4. Dixie Avenue
  5. Look Away
  6. Shout Mountain Music
  7. The Good Stuff
  8. Old Hickory
  9. Homecoming Party
  10. Elzick’s Farewell
  11. Whirlwind

Stream / Download / CD/LP

A Perfect Circle – Eat The Elephant

The Scoop: The first album from supergroup A Perfect Circle since 2004’s Emotive finds co-founders vocalist Maynard James Keenan (Tool, Puscifer) and guitarist Billy Howerdel (Ashes Divide) joined by guitarist James Iha (Tinted Windows, Smashing Pumpkins), drummer Jeff Friedl (Puscifer, The Beta Machine) and bassist Matt McJunkins (Eagles of Death Metal, The Beta Machine). The 12-track, long-awaited Eat The Elephant was produced by Dave Sardy. Some of the recordings featured on the new release are from sessions that date back as far as 2008. Check out “So Long, And Thanks For All The Fish” a track originally written by Howerdel for his solo project Ashes Divide:

Label: A Perfect Circle/BMG Rights Management

Producer: Dave Sardy, Maynard James Keenan, Billy Howerdel

Number Of Tracks: 12

Running Time: 57:00

Guest Musicians: Isaac Carpenter, Matt Chamberlain


  1. Eat The Elephant
  2. Disillusioned
  3. The Contrarian
  4. The Doomed
  5. So Long, And Thanks For All The Fish
  6. Talk, Talk
  7. By And Down By The River
  8. Delicious
  9. DLB
  10. Hourglass
  11. Feathers
  12. Get The Lead Out

Stream / Download / CD/LP

Lord Huron – Vide Noir

The Scoop: Vide Noir is the third album issued by Lord Huron but is the first major label release by the project started by Ben Schneider. The 12-song move to a major follows up their 2015 sophomore LP Strange Trails, and was marketed with an innovative publicity campaign that included a public access television show aired in select cities and the Follow The Emerald Star companion mobile app that unlucked songs at specific geo-locations around the globe. Vide Noir was mixed by Dave Fridmann and recorded at Schneider’s Los Angeles studio and “informal clubhouse” Whispering Pines. Preview the album via the track “Ancient Names, Pt. I” below:

Label: Whispering Pines Studios Inc./Republic Records/UMG Recordings,

Producer: Dave Fridmann (Mixer)

Number Of Tracks: 12

Running Time: 49:00

Guest Musicians: N/A


  1. Lost in Time and Space
  2. Never Ever
  3. Ancient Names, Pt. I
  4. Ancient Names, Pt. II
  5. Wait by the River
  6. Secret of Life
  7. Back from the Edge
  8. The Balancer’s Eye
  9. When the Night is Over
  10. Moonbeam
  11. Vide Noir
  12. Emerald Star

Stream / Download / CD/LP

A Big Yes and a small no – Mise En Abyme

The Scoop: Kevin Kendrick re-assembled A Big Yes and a small no after five years to record Mise En Abyme, the group’s new album out today via Royal Potato Family. The group’s founder is joined on the LP by his old Fat Mama band mate and longtime collaborator drummer Joe Russo, current Leftover Salmon keyboardist Erik Deutsch, bassist Jonti Siman and guitarist Jonathan Goldberger for the collection of nine tracks. Kendrick survived a kidnapping in Colombia in 1997 and seven muggings, so it’s not surprising the Brooklyn-based musician describes Mise En Abyme as “the album where I learn that there’s actually so much to appreciate about being alive beyond just appreciating being alive.” Watch the video for “Enough Is Enough”:

Label: Royal Potato Family

Number Of Tracks: 9

Running Time: 41:12

Guest Musicians: Joe Russo, Erik Deutsch, Jonathan Goldberger, Jonti Siman


  1. Mise En Abyme
  2. Don’t Pull It Out
  3. Stranger Things
  4. Amazing Grace
  5. Enough Is Enough
  6. I’m Gonna Die
  7. We Talk Too Much
  8. Photo Finish
  9. Heather

Stream / Download / CD/LP

Compiled by Jeffrey Greenblatt, Andy Kahn and Scott Bernstein.

JamBase Collections