Queens Of The Stone Age Share New Single & Announce North American Tour Dates


Yesterday, Queens of the Stone Age announced the upcoming release of a new album entited Villains. Today, Josh Homme & Co. have revealed the LP is due out August 25, shared its first single and detailed a North American Tour.

“The title Villains isn’t a political statement. It has nothing to do with Trump or any of that shit. It’s simply 1) a word that looks fantastic and 2) a comment on the three versions of every scenario: yours, mine and what actually happened… Everyone needs someone or something to rail against—their villain—same as it ever was. You can’t control that. The only thing you can really control is when you let go” said Homme in a statement about the nine-track, Mark Ronson-produced Villains.

QOTSA tapped longtime cohort Mark Rankin to co-produce. “After the baptism of fire that was …Like Clockwork, I was excited to get into the studio again with the challenge of pushing the sound for this record, especially with the addition of Ronson into the creative mix. We wanted to evolve the production to be processed in a modern way yet be totally organic and still performed fully live, like lifting a veil and what you thought was electronic is actually live and things are not as they first appear… What we’ve made is forward looking yet unmistakably Queens,” Rankin said.

The album is currently available for pre-order here. Check out the first single off the LP, “The Way You Used To Do”:

Queens Of The Stone Age will embark on a North American Tour with support from Royal Blood this September and October. After a pair of previously announced shows later this month and visits to California in August, QOTSA kick off the tour at The Capitol Theatre in Port Chester, New York on September 6. From there, the band plays Philadelphia, Toronto, Grand Rapids, Columbus, Pittsburgh, Cleveland and Chicago in September. A second leg will take place in October featuring stops in Utah, Colorado, Missouri, Minnesota, Wisconsin, Michigan, Indiana, Washington D.C., Massachusetts and Maine ahead of a tour-closing performance at Madison Square Garden in New York City on October 24.

Villains Tracklist

  • 1. Feet Don’t Fail Me
  • 2. The Way You Used To Do
  • 3. Domesticated Animals
  • 4. Fortress
  • 5. Head Like A Haunted House
  • 6. Un-Reborn Again
  • 7. Hideaway
  • 8. The Evil Has Landed
  • 9. Villains Of Circumstance