Primus Debut New Original In Colorado


Primus returned to Red Rocks on Tuesday night to conclude a two-night stand in Colorado that also included a Monday night performance at the more cozy confines of Boulder’s Fox Theatre. Bassist Les Claypool did double duty on the Rocks as The Claypool Lennon Delirium kicked off the show. Claypool and Primus played a portion of a brand-new song on Monday and then unveiled the tune in full during the Red Rocks set.

The first new Primus original in years is titled “Seven” according to Les’s hand-written setlist for the Red Rocks show. “Seven” was the tenth song played during the trio’s 15-song main set on Tuesday. Claypool, guitarist Larry “Ler” LaLonde and drummer Tim Alexander fit four tunes off Sailing The Seas Of Cheese and three a piece from Frizzle Fry and Tales From The Punchbowl into their Red Rocks performance. Primus welcomed Sean Lennon to add to the evening’s “Southbound Pachyderm” encore. Colorado fans who attended both shows were treated to wide range of Primus material as the trio only repeated two songs from the Fox at Red Rocks.

Videos (Captured by Jeremiah Rogers)


[My Name Is Mud]

[Jerry Was A Racecar Driver]

[Mr Krinkle]

[Nature Boy]

[Tommy The Cat]

[Seven tease at the Fox]

Photos by Jeremy Williams From The Fox


Primus at Fox Theatre

Set 1
  • Frizzle Fry
  • Here Come the Bastards
  • Groundhog's Day
  • American Life
  • Jilly's on Smack
  • The Seven  
  • Pudding Time
Set 2
  • Spegetti Western
  • Nature Boy
  • Over the Falls
  • Lee Van Cleef
  • Bob
  • Over the Electric Grapevine
  • Tommy the Cat
  • Too Many Puppies


Primus at Red Rocks Amphitheatre

  • Too Many Puppies  
  • Last Salmon Man
  • Wynona's Big Brown Beaver
  • American Life
  • Jilly's on Smack
  • Mr. Krinkle
  • Whamola  
  • Eleven
  • John the Fisherman  
  • The Seven  
  • Those Damned Blue-Collar Tweekers
  • Mrs. Blaileen
  • My Name Is Mud
  • Jerry Was a Race Car Driver
  • Harold of the Rocks
  • Southbound Pachyderm
  • Upcoming Shows