Pimps Of Joytime Announce New Album ‘Reachin’ Up’ & Share Single

Check out the album's lead single and opening track, "Lesson."

By Scott Bernstein Oct 18, 2021 1:28 pm PDT

Pimps Of Joytime confirmed a new studio album entitled Reachin’ Up is set for release via Regime Music Group on February 4, 2022. Today, the soul and funk act unveiled “Lesson,” the lead single and opening song from the 10-track effort.

Frontman Brian J wrote most of the material featured on Reachin’ Up and also provided the bulk of the album’s instrumentation and production. Contributors include Carol C (Si*Sé) and New Mastersounds bassist Pete Shand as well as longtime collaborators Chauncey Yearwood (High & Mighty Brass Band) and Marcus Farrar (Antibalas).

Brian J shared the following regarding Reachin’ Up:

“The process of making this album started in 2019. I was on a bit of a break from Pimps of Joytime and just began laying some grooves and chord progressions down. By the time Covid hit, I had some solid sketches in place, and with my newly found free-time, I dug-in on refining those recordings. I am very excited for this album to get out there into the world! A spirit of love and exaltation was my guiding influence throughout the creative process, and it is my hope that folks will come away with that feeling after listening.”

“The majority of the lyrics of ‘Lesson’ were written in a stream consciousness, in the studio,” Brian J added in reference to the LP’s lead single. “I later did some refining and editing with the help of Carol C. I am pretty much offering myself advice in and through the song. Realizing some things never get resolved, you just gotta let it all go, Buddha style!”

Check out “Lesson” below:

Reachin’ Up Tracklist

  1. Lesson
  2. Reachin’ Up featuring Marcus Farrar
  3. Are You Gonna?
  4. Paradise featuring Carol C
  5. One Time Around
  6. All I Have featuring Pete Shand and Will Woodlock
  7. Unity featuring Chauncey Yearwood
  8. Giving You My Heart
  9. Empty Page
  10. Another Lesson
JamBase Collections