Phish PNC Music Pavilion Charlotte | Setlist & The Skinny

By Scott Bernstein Jul 26, 2014 9:00 am PDT

Last night Phish returned to the PNC Music Pavilion in Charlotte, NC for their sixth show at the outdoor amphitheatre since 1999. The band -who were coming off of a rare, mid-tour, four-day break -played half of their new album, dusted off a pair of fan-favorite covers, delivered a few impressive segues and laid down a second set with plenty of improvisational fireworks.

Phish opened Friday night’s performance with “Mike’s Song,” which marked the first time they had used the Mike Gordon-penned classic in that role since June 16, 2012. “Mike’s” led into “Back On The Train,” a sequence that had never been played in the past. The band didn’t wait long to drop the expected “Weekapaug Groove” as it filled the #3 slot in the first set. “Wingsuit” was the evening’s initial Fuego offering and was followed by romps through “Possum,” “Tube” and “My Friend, My Friend,” before the quartet dipped back into their latest album for a deliciously-extended take on “Winterqueen.” Page McConnell then brought his “Beauty Of A Broken Heart” off the shelf for the first time in 42 shows. The “David Bowie” that came next even contained a “Beauty Of A Broken Heart” tease from guitarist Trey Anastasio. The opening stanza came to a close with the tour debut of “Golgi Apparatus.”

A second set that featured a total of three Fuego tunes began with “555.” Next up was “Chalk Dust Torture,” which for the third time this tour saw the Vermonters bust through its normal, hard-hitting arena-rock solo for an exploratory journey. In a scene straight out the mid ’90s, Anastasio, McConnell and Gordon impressively built on the melodies each were laying down during a gorgeous, mostly major-key “Chalk Dust” jam that was propelled by the standout work of drummer Jon Fishman. The lessons of the band’s “Including Your Own Hey Hole” improvisational exercises were on full display throughout the 16-minute “Chalk Dust” – easily one of the evening’s highlights. One of the trends we’ve seen develop this tour has been that Phish has played “Fuego” in each city they’ve visited and that trend continued last night in Charlotte. The jam was notable for a smooth transition into “Twist,” the first of three interesting segues in the set. The most patient and precise of these segues tied together “Twist” and the tour’s first “When The Circus Comes.” Trey seemed so jazzed by the success of the “Twist” -> “Circus” transition that he quickly started the intro to “Rift” mere minutes into the “Piper” jam. From there, Phish called upon “Waiting All Night” off Fuego before teasing the title track of their new album within a rare second set “Reba.” A set-closing “Character Zero” and an encore of the tour’s first “Loving Cup” gave fans and the band a few chances to empty the tank. Phish Summer Tour 2014 continues tonight at Merriweather Post Pavilion in Columbia, MD.



  • Venue Type / Capacity: Outdoor Amphitheatre / 19,500
  • Previous Shows at Venue: 07/07/1999, 07/25/2003, 07/02/2010, 06/17/2011 and 08/26/2012 -5 Shows
  • Number Of Songs / Length – First Set: 11 / 7:36 p.m. -8:59 p.m. (83 Minutes)
  • Number Of Songs / Length – Second Set & Encore: 11 / 9:29 p.m. -10:58 p.m. (89 Minutes)
  • Total Number of Songs / Covers / Originals: 22 / 2 / 20
  • Biggest Bustout: Beauty Of A Broken Heart -42 Shows (LTP – 07/27/2013)
  • Average Song Vintage: 1997
  • Debuts: N/A
  • Tour Debuts: Beauty Of A Broken Heart, Golgi Apparatus, When The Circus Comes, Loving Cup
  • Total Number Of Different Songs Phish Has Played This Year: 123
  • Weather: 78 degrees and Clear at Showtime
  • Average Song Gap: 7.45
  • The Spread: Junta -2, Lawn Boy -1, Picture Of Nectar -1, Rift -2, Billy Breathes -1, Farmhouse -3, Fuego -5, Misc. -5, Covers -2
  • Longest LivePhish Track / Shortest LivePhish Track: Chalk Dust Torture 16:24 / Beauty Of A Broken Heart 5:08
  • Audio: Live Phish

Phish From The Road Photos…



JamBase Collections