Phish Alpharetta 2013 Setlist And The Skinny – Night Two

By Team JamBase Jul 17, 2013 5:00 pm PDT


[Photo via @Phish_FTR]

Tonight Phish concluded a two-night stand at Verizon Wireless Amphitheatre at Encore Park in Alpharetta, GA. The Vermonters first visited the relatively new Atlanta area venue for a two-night stand in 2010 and returned in 2011 for another two-night stand. Last summer, Phish opted to play Aaron’s Amphitheatre at Lakewood in Atlanta – a venue they performed at eight times between 1995 and 2003.

Phish opened tonight’s show with a pair of well-played staples: the second “Runaway Jim” of the tour and first set favorite “The Moma Dance.” Last night the band shied away from covers in the first set, but this evening they offered a take on Son Seals’ “Funky Bitch” in the third slot. “Divided Sky” batted cleanup as Phish made it four-of-four heavy rotation gems to start the show. Heavy rains started to fall during “Divided Sky.” Next, “Gumbo” made its tour and 2013 debut and was followed by “Nellie Cane” and the debut of “Frost.” The Trey Anastasio Band first performed “Frost” on October 6, 2011 and it has since been a regular part of the group’s live repertoire. Anastasio recorded a version of “Frost,” which he wrote with Tom Marshall, for last year’s Traveler LP. Phish had soundchecked “Frost” a number of times this tour, but tonight was the first time the quartet performed the tune in front of an audience. Another tour debut, “Alaska,” then made its first appearance since New Year’s Eve. The tour debuts kept coming with the tale of an ugly pig, aka “Guyute.” An opening set that was light on improv came to a close with a ripping “Stealing Time From The Faulty Plan” and a “Suzy Greenberg” that saw Fish yell “Neurologist? My uncle’s a radiologist.”

“Punch You In The Eye” has been notably missing from the tour’s first eight setlists, but finally saw action tonight as the second set opener. The fourth “Punch” second set opener of the era led into a cover of “Drowned.” The Who classic referenced the falling rain as did the “Water In The Sky” that came next. Early in the tour Phish debuted a cover of “Energy” by indie-rockers The Apples In The Stereo. They’ve since gone on to soundcheck the song at recent shows and this evening they took “Energy” out for a spin once again. “Energy” was the first song of the night the quartet really opened up. Keyboardist Page McConnell hopped on electric piano and traded beautiful, melodic licks with Trey throughout the “Energy” jam, while bassist Mike Gordon laid down synth’d out bombs and drummer Jon Fishman utilized his “Marimba Lumina” once again. Out of nowhere, the band segued into the tour debut of one of the first originals they ever played – “Fluffhead.” During the “Clod” section of “Fluffhead,” Anastasio nodded towards last night’s craziness by teasing “Heartbreaker.” “Piper” followed and once again featured full-band improv, with McConnell on clav this time around as Trey offered choppy rhythm work. Eventually the guitarist took the lead and brought the exploration around to one of the tour’s signature “butter jams.” From there, the band offered one of the tour’s biggest bust outs in Rift ballad “Fast Enough For You,” which was last played on September 3, 2011. The funky “Also Sprach Zarathrustra,” more commonly known as “2001,” brought us to another “Mike’s Song.” An unusual “Mike’s Groove” filling was provided by “The Wedge,” marking the first time the Rift classic has followed “Mike’s Song.” An awkward segue provided the transition to the “Weekapaug Groove” you knew was coming. Over eighty minutes into the set, Phish could’ve been excused for rushing the set closer, but instead Trey patiently unwound an impressive solo. The rain picked up in intensity as the Vermonters returned for the encore, “Quinn The Eskimo” by Bob Dylan, which was the evening’s eighth tour debut. Summer Tour moves to the Midwest next for three shows in Chicago starting on Friday.

Click here to view the full breakdowns of every show Phish has played in 2013 including setlists, recaps and our statistical rundowns.



Here’s The Skinny from Phish’s Alpharetta finale…

  • Venue Capacity / Attendance / Type: 12,000 / 9,500 (estimate) / Outdoor Amphitheatre
  • Previous Shows at Venue: 5 Shows – 7/03/2010, 7/04/2010, 6/14/2011, 6/15/2011 and 7/16/2013
  • Number Of Songs / Length – First Set: 11 / 8:08 p.m. – 9:32 p.m. (84 Minutes)
  • Number Of Songs / Length – Second Set & Encore: 12 / 10:02 p.m. – 11:36 (94 Minutes)
  • Total Number of Songs / Covers / Originals: 23 / 5 / 18
  • Biggest Bustout: Fast Enough For You – 53 Shows (LTP – 9/3/2011)
  • Tour Debuts: Gumbo, Frost, Alaska, Guyute, PYITE, Fluffhead, Fast Enough For You, Quinn The Eskimo
  • Average Song Vintage: 1994
  • Debuts: Frost (Anastasio/Marshall)
  • Weather: 71° and Thunderstorms at Showtime
  • Average Song Gap: 10.95
  • The Spread: Junta – 2, Rift – 2, The Story Of The Ghost – 3, Farmhouse -1, Joy – 1, Misc. – 8, Covers – 6
  • Longest LivePhish Track / Shortest LivePhish Track: Divided Sky 17:10 / Nellie Kane 2:46
  • Audio: Live Phish

Phish From The Road Photos…



JamBase Collections