Paul McCartney Plays ‘Jet’ At Fenway Park

Watch the first public performance of the 'Band On The Run' classic since 2018.

By Scott Bernstein Jun 9, 2022 10:41 am PDT

Paul McCartney completed a two-night stand at Fenway Park in Boston last night. Wednesday’s concert included a surprise, as Macca dusted off “Jet” for its first public performance since 2018.

“Jet” was originally issued by McCartney on his 1973 album with Wings, Band On The Run. The song was a staple of his live performances through 2017. However, “Jet” has only been played during soundchecks for VIPs ever since outside of a pair of “secret gigs” held in 2018 at Liverpool’s Cavern Club and Philharmonic Dining Rooms.

Paul and his talented band fit “Jet” into the middle of their 37-song concert at the home of the Boston Red Sox. Otherwise, McCartney kept to a nearly identical setlist as other stops on his current Got Back tour. Exceptions were “Queenie Eye” off 2013’s New and Beatles classic “We Can Work It Out,” both of which were not played the previous night at Fenway. The title track from New and Beatles oldie “I’ve Just A Seen A Face” were the only two songs performed on Tuesday in Boston that didn’t make the setlist on Wednesday.

Macca launched last night’s show with “Can’t Buy Me Love.” The tune was one of 20 The Beatles gems performed on Wednesday, including “Get To Get You Into My Life,” “Love Me Do,” “Blackbird,” “Being For The Benefit Of Mr. Kite!” and the closing run of “Golden Slumbers,” “Carry That Weight” and “The End.” Paul honored his two late Beatles bandmates by performing George Harrison’s “Something” and singing a virtual duet with film footage of John Lennon on “I’ve Got A Feeling.” Additionally, McCartney paid tribute to Lennon with “Here Today,” a song from 1982’s Tug Of War about his relationship with John.

Watch fan-shot video footage of “Jet” and stream an audience recording queued to the song below:

J Nichols
Paul McCartney (See 43 videos)

Loading band summary


Paul McCartney at Fenway Park

  • Can't Buy Me Love  
  • Junior's Farm  
  • Letting Go  
  • Got to Get You Into My Life  
  • Come On to Me
  • Let Me Roll It  
  • Getting Better  
  • Let 'Em In  
  • My Valentine
  • Nineteen Hundred and Eighty-Five  
  • Maybe I'm Amazed
  • We Can Work It Out  
  • In Spite of All the Danger  
  • Love Me Do  
  • Dance Tonight
  • Blackbird  
  • Here Today
  • Queenie Eye
  • Lady Madonna  
  • Fuh You
  • Jet  
  • Being for the Benefit of Mr. Kite!  
  • Something  
  • Ob-La-Di, Ob-La-Da  
  • You Never Give Me Your Money  
  • She Came in Through the Bathroom Window  
  • Get Back  
  • Band on the Run  
  • Let It Be  
  • Live and Let Die  
  • Hey Jude  
  • I've Got a Feeling  
  • Birthday  
  • Helter Skelter  
  • Golden Slumbers  
  • Carry That Weight  
  • The End  
  • Paul McCartney Kicks Off Got Back Tour In Spokane

    Paul McCartney Kicks Off Got Back Tour In Spokane

    Paul McCartney’s Got Back Tour opener in Spokane featured a setlist made up of The Beatles, Wings and solo classic songs.

JamBase Collections