Paul McCartney Kicks Off Got Back Tour In Spokane

The Beatles legend treated fans to a career-spanning setlist.

By Andy Kahn Apr 29, 2022 7:56 am PDT

Paul McCartney kicked off his Got Back Tour on Thursday night at Spokane Arena in Spokane, Washington. McCartney’s first performance since 2019 featured a setlist consisting of The Beatles, Wings and solo classic songs.

McCartney got back to it by opening the show with the early-Beatles favorite “Can’t Buy Me Love.” A few songs after came McCartney’s first live performance of The Beatles’ “Getting Better” since 2003. That was followed by the live debut of “Women And Wives,” the only song played last night from McCartney’s 2021 album, McCartney III. Additional solo material performed on opening night included “Maybe I’m Amazed,” “Come On to Me,” “My Valentine,” “Dance Tonight” and “Queenie Eye,” among others.

Later in the set, McCartney played the Abbey Road tunes “You Never Give Me Your Money” for the first time since 2003 and “She Came in Through the Bathroom Window” for the first time since 2008. Wings songs were sprinkled in throughout the main set, with such well-known tunes as “Band On The Run,” “Let Me Roll It” and “Live and Let Die” making the setlist.

The 30-song main set was followed by a six-song encore made up entirely of The Beatles songs. McCartney began the encore with “I’ve Got A Feeling.” A video screen behind the band projected footage of The Beatles’ famed 1969 rooftop concert while audio of the late John Lennon singing was played.

McCartney revealed that Peter Jackson mentioned the idea of having Lennon “sing” along with the live band after being able to isolate Lennon’s vocals as part of Jackson’s Get Back documentary. After “I’ve Got A Feeling,” Paul addressed the audience.

“So Peter Jackson, the director of the Get Back film, he texted me one day, he said, “We can extract John’s voice. And he can sing with you, live.”

Tim Wilks (See 2 videos)
Paul McCartney (See 51 videos)

The rest of the encore was a pair of White Album songs, “Birthday” and “Helter Skelter,” followed by the ending of the Abbey Road medley, “Golden Slumbers,” “Carry That Weight” and “The End.”

McCartney’s Got Back Tour continues on Monday, May 2 at Seattle’s Climate Pledge Arena. Watch audience-shot video from Thursday’s tour opener in Spokane below:

Juan Jose Caceres
Paul McCartney (See 51 videos)

Tim Wilks (See 2 videos)
Paul McCartney (See 51 videos)

Paul McCartney (See 51 videos)

Loading tour dates



Paul McCartney
  • Can't Buy Me Love
  • Junior's Farm
  • Letting Go
  • Got to Get You Into My Life
  • Come On to Me
  • Let Me Roll It
  • Getting Better
  • Women and Wives
  • My Valentine
  • Nineteen Hundred and Eighty-Five
  • Maybe I'm Amazed
  • I've Just Seen a Face
  • In Spite of All the Danger
  • Love Me Do
  • Dance Tonight
  • Blackbird
  • Here Today
  • Queenie Eye
  • Lady Madonna
  • Fuh You
  • Being for the Benefit of Mr. Kite!
  • Something
  • Ob-La-Di, Ob-La-Da
  • You Never Give Me Your Money
  • She Came in Through the Bathroom Window
  • Get Back
  • Band on the Run
  • Let It Be
  • Live and Let Die
  • Hey Jude
  • I've Got a Feeling
  • Birthday
  • Helter Skelter
  • Golden Slumbers
  • Carry That Weight
  • The End
Setlist data
JamBase Collections