Nicole Atkins Announces New Album ‘Memphis Ice’ & Shares Single

Watch the video for "Promised Land," the album's lead single.

By Scott Bernstein Oct 13, 2021 7:35 am PDT

Singer-songwriter Nicole Atkins returns with the new album Memphis Ice through Silver Lock Records on December 10. The reworked version of Atkins’ 2020 LP Italian Ice features lead single “Promised Land” and will be accompanied by a livestream performance of the album.

Atkins recorded the cabaret-style Memphis Ice live at Memphis Magnetic Recording with pianist Dan Chen, violinist Laura Epling and cellist Maggie Chaffee. The one-day session was documented for a full-length performance film which premieres via Moment House on Friday, December 10 at 9 p.m. ET/6 p.m. PT.

Memphis Ice features raw renditions of nine tracks originally released on Italian Ice as well as “Promised Land,” a song which Atkins recorded for her 2020 LP but decided not to release. “I always thought about my Judy Garland or Liza Minnelli moment coming later in life,” the New Jersey-bred musician said in a press release. “But after we finished that day of recording, I had so much fun just singing and was so in the moment, I thought, ‘I want to do that sooner, I want to do that for my next record.’ I want to make a record of standards that are new if that’s possible.”

“Promised Land” arrives with a video culled from the forthcoming performance film. Atkins shared the following regarding the single:

“‘Promised Land’ is a song about losing your sense of self and finally having the courage to go find it again. Even if it meant losing people and places you loved. I wrote this song a long time ago. I was living in someone else’s dream and becoming a shadow. I’ve recorded this song a few times and it always felt too encumbered with a full production. When we went in to record MEMPHIS ICE, I realized it was the perfect place and time to record ‘Promised Land.’ Raw and performative. Nothing to hide behind.”

Watch Nicole Atkins’ “Promised Land” video below:

Memphis Ice Tracklist

  1. Captain
  2. Mind Eraser
  3. St. Dymphna
  4. Domino
  5. A Road To Nowhere
  6. Forever
  7. These Old Roses
  8. Far From Home
  9. Promised Land
  10. In The Splinters
JamBase Collections