Celebrate: Nickel Creek Returns With 1st Album In 9 Years ‘Celebrants’ & Shares Single

Chris Thile, Sara Watkins and Sean Watkins shared “Strangers” off of the LP coming out on March 24.

By Andy Kahn Jan 24, 2023 7:44 am PST

Acclaimed progressive folk/bluegrass trio Nickel Creek will release Celebrants, their first new album since 2014, on March 24 through Thirty Tigers. Mandolinist Chris Thile, violinist Sara Watkins and guitarist Sean Watkins shared the album’s lead single, “Strangers.”

Nickel Creek’s fifth studio album, Celebrants was produced by regular collaborator Eric Valentine. The trio recorded the 18-track follow-up to 2014’s A Dotted Line at Nashville’s historic RCA Studio A. Bassist Mike Elizondo appears throughout Celebrants.


Since the release of their last album, Thile and the Watkins siblings have remained active with a number of projects. Thile hosted Live From Here and has performed with his group Punch Brothers and several others. In addition to solo and collaborative work, Sara Watkins formed I’m With Her with Aoife O’Donovan and Sarah Jarosz. A solo artist as well, Sean Watkins also teamed with Sara to co-found Watkins Family Hour.

Nickel Creek is expected to announce tour dates in support Celebrants in addition to their upcoming sold-out three-night run in Nashville at The Ryman Auditorium on April 27, 28 and 29.

Regarding the single “Strangers,” Thile stated:

“This song is an exploration of the ostensibly rewarding but often awkward, even excruciating act of catching up with an old friend. Can the connection be reforged? Should it be?”

Watch Nickel Creek’s official performance video for their new single, “Strangers,” below:

Loading tour dates


Celebrants Tracklist

  1. Celebrants
  2. Strangers
  3. Water Under the Bridge, Part 1
  4. The Meadow
  5. Thinnest Wall
  6. Going Out…
  7. Holding Pattern
  8. Where the Long Line Leads
  9. Goddamned Saint
  10. Stone’s Throw
  11. Goddamned Saint, Reprise
  12. From the Beach
  13. To The Airport
  14. …Despite the Weather
  15. Hollywood Ending
  16. New Blood
  17. Water Under the Bridge, Part 2
  18. Failure Isn’t Forever
JamBase Collections