Nels Cline Announces New Quartet & Debut Album ‘Currents, Constellations’


Wilco guitarist Nels Cline has announced the upcoming release of Currents, Constellations on Blue Note Records. The album due out April 13 marks the debut of the newly revealed project The Nels Cline 4.

Rounding out The Nels Cline 4 are guitarist Julian Lage, drummer Tom Rainey and bassist Scott Colley. The record features seven Cline originals and a cover of The Jimmy Giuffre 3’s arrangment of Carla Bley’s “Temporarily.”

Originally titled “Jazz Fusion Composition,” the first song shared by The Nels Cline 4 is renamed track “Imperfect 10.”

“I think a couple of the guys are disappointed that it’s not still called that,” Cline said. “It’s a straightforward rockin’ tune that’s fun to play. I suggested this beat to Tom that he does periodically, and once we started that it was off to the races.”

Watch the video for “Imperfect 10” below:

Currents, Constellations Tracklist

  1. Furtive
  2. Swing Ghost ’59
  3. Imperfect 10
  4. As Close As That
  5. Amenette
  6. Temporarily
  7. River Mouth (Parts 1 & 2)
  8. For Each, A Flower

Tour Dates for
Nels Cline

  • Nov
  • Nov