Neil Young & Crazy Horse Detail ‘Way Down In The Rust Bucket’ Live Album & Concert Film

By Scott Bernstein Jan 15, 2021 10:34 am PST

On February 26, Neil Young & Crazy Horse will drop the live album and concert film Way Down In The Rust Bucket via Reprise Records. Way Down In The Rust Bucket — which features a previously unreleased show from November 13, 1990 at the Catalyst in Santa Cruz, California — has been previewed with a trailer and audio of “Country Home.”

The set will be available in a variety of formats including digital, CD and vinyl. Way Down In The Rust Bucket also arrives as a digital box set featuring a DVD, 4 LPs and 2 CDs.

Neil Young & Crazy Horse’s performance in front of an intimate crowd in Santa Cruz took place two months after the band released Ragged Glory, a studio album recorded at Broken Arrow Ranch the previous spring. The show consisted of three sets spanning over three hours.

Young, Frank Sampedro, Billy Talbot and Ralph Molina presented the live debut of “Danger Bird” from Neil’s 1975 LP, Zuma. The historic concert also featured early versions of “Surfer Joe and Moe the Sleaze,” “Love to Burn,” “Farmer John,” “Over and Over,” “Fuckin’ Up,” “Mansion on the Hill” and “Love and Only Love.” Additionally, plenty of classics were played including “Cortez The Killer,” “Cinnamon Girl” and “Like A Hurricane.”

“Country Home” served as opener. Stream the track below:

Watch a trailer for Way Down In The Rust Bucket:

Way Down In The Rust Bucket Tracklist

  • 1. Country Home
  • 2. Surfer Joe and Moe the Sleaze
  • 3. Love to Burn
  • 4. Days That Used to Be
  • 5. Bite the Bullet
  • 6. Cinnamon Girl
  • 7. Farmer John
  • #. Cowgirl In The Sand (exclusive to the DVD ONLY)
  • 8. Over and Over
  • 9. Danger Bird
  • 10. Don’t Cry No Tears
  • 11. Sedan Delivery
  • 12. Roll Another Number (For the Road)
  • 13. Fuckin’ Up
  • 14. T-Bone
  • 15. Homegrown
  • 16. Mansion on the Hill
  • 17. Like a Hurricane
  • 18. Love and Only Love
  • 19. Cortez the Killer
JamBase Collections