Midnight North Announces New Album ‘There’s Always A Story’ & Shares Single

By Scott Bernstein Feb 5, 2021 8:08 am PST

Americana act Midnight North will release a new album entitled There’s Always A Story in May. The quartet previewed the LP, which is available for pre-order in a variety of formats and with limited edition merch via Bandcamp, by sharing the single “Wild Card.”

Midnight North consists of Grahame Lesh, Elliott Peck, Nathan Graham and Connor O’Sullivan. Guests on the band’s fourth studio album include Jason Crosby, Allison Russell, Marcus Machado, Dave Eggar, JT Nero, Scott Law and the Trey Anastasio Band horn section of Jennifer Hartswick, James Casey and Natalie Cressman.

David Simon-Baker co-produced There’s Always A Story with Midnight North. Work began on the album in Marin County, California early last year before the pandemic forced the group to complete the LP from their respective home studios. “I’m so proud of the music we made on this record,” Lesh said. “We’ve been working so hard on this and can’t wait to show it off!”

“Wild Card” opens the 10-track LP. Longtime Midnight North friend and collaborator Jason Crosby contributed piano to the song, one of many appearances the multi-instrumentalist makes on There’s Always A Story.

Stream “Wild Card” below:

There’s Always A Story Tracklist

  1. Wild Card
  2. The Sailor & The Sea
  3. Good Days
  4. Earthquakes
  5. Give Away The Ghost
  6. Coyote
  7. Stars Falling
  8. Mississippi River
  9. Silent Lonely Drifter
  10. We’re Not Alone
JamBase Collections