Midnight North Releases ‘Down & Out In Mobile’ EP


Midnight North today unveils Down & Out In Mobile, a new EP recorded in 2017. Down & Out In Mobile is available exclusively via Bandcamp, which today waves its revenue share for this month’s Bandcamp Friday.

The three-song collection was recorded at Jake Peavy‘s Dauphin Street Studios in Mobile, Alabama. Midnight North was on hand to perform as part of Peavy’s The Outsiders band opening for the Tedeschi Trucks Band. Down & Out In Mobile contains early versions of three tracks that would appear in different fashion later in 2017 on Midnight North’s Under The Lights LP.

The band shared the following about Down & Out In Mobile:

Rewind all the way back to 2017. Midnight North kicked off our 2017 with a trip to Mobile, Alabama in January. We were asked to be part of Jake Peavy’s band The Outsiders opening for Tedeschi Trucks Band at the Saenger Theater. We had gotten to know Jake (and Ben & Sarah Lauren & Thomas & Luke, etc) the previous year when Jake pitched for our San Francisco Giants. As part of our trip, we were lucky enough to check out Jake’s new studio, Dauphin Street Sound, and cut a few tracks. These were original songs that were still fairly new to us – at this point “Under The Lights” wouldn’t be released for another 5 months. We didn’t do much with the tracks, but luckily we saved them just in case.

Flash forward to 2020. The pandemic stranded the four of us in four different cities on 2 separate coasts, but we still really wanted to work on music together. We quickly settled on our first projects, which you’ve already heard: our cover of Jason Isbell’s “Only Children” (released May 22) and our newly recorded original “Good Days” (released June 12). But as we went through the archives we also found the original files for three songs that we had recorded at Dauphin Street Sound in Mobile in January 2017. Perfect! “Down and Out in Mobile” was in motion.

We were all a bit different in 2017. Midnight North sure was! So for this project we decided to time travel and make a 2020 Midnight North version of these 2017 recordings. Nathan added banjo, harmonica, and percussion. We all added more harmonies. Connor mixed the tunes AND added mandolin, Fender Rhodes piano, synth pads, and gong! The result is three familiar Midnight North tunes presented in an amazingly unfamiliar way.

More is coming soon in the Midnight North world. Our 4th full length album creeps closer & closer to completion. But as that work continues, this EP lets us look at these older songs in a fresh new light and show off another side of our band. It’s a side we like, and a part of ourselves that we can’t wait to show y’all more of as soon as we’re able.

-Midnight North

Listen to and purchase Down & Out In Mobile below:

More Midnight North on JamBase
  • Midnight North Covers Tedeschi Trucks Band For ‘Live From Out There’

    Midnight North Covers Tedeschi Trucks Band For ‘Live From Out There’ 

  • Midnight North Shares ‘Good Days’ Single

    Midnight North Shares ‘Good Days’ Single 

  • Midnight North Shares Jason Isbell & The 400 Unit Cover ‘Only Children’

    Midnight North Shares Jason Isbell & The 400 Unit Cover ‘Only Children’ 

  • Midnight North & Jason Crosby Share Grateful Dead Cover

    Midnight North & Jason Crosby Share Grateful Dead Cover 

  • Midnight North Releases New Album 'Live From Peaches Records'

    Midnight North Releases New Album 'Live From Peaches Records' 

Down & Out In Mobile Tracklist

  1. Greene Country
  2. Headline From Kentucky
  3. Under The Lights