Luther Dickinson & Sisters Of The Strawberry Moon Announce Debut Album & Share Single

By Jeffrey Greenblatt Jan 9, 2019 10:31 am PST

Luther Dickinson and Sisters of the Strawberry Moon will release their debut album Solstice via New West Records on March 22. The 12-song collection was recorded over four days at the Dickinson family’s Zebra Ranch Studio in Independence, Mississippi and features an all-star collection of voices from the modern American roots music scene. Today, Dickinson & Co. shared the first single from the LP “Like A Songbird That Has Fallen,” which features Amy Helm on vocals.

Dickinson shared the following statement about the project:

“The whole idea of this album was to introduce a bunch of friends and get them to collaborate with each other. I wanted to let the chemistry flow, to create an environment where everyone’s flavors naturally blended together and each artist could just be themselves. I think you can feel that freedom in the music. Most of the work was in getting the spark lit. It was sort of like throwing a party. Once you manage to get everybody together, you can just step back and let it all happen.”

Listen to “Like A Songbird That Has Fallen” which premiered via Paste Magazine:

Additionally, the band will play a short tour in support of the album that will almost exclusively be presented at City Winery outposts around the country. The seven-date run features shows at City Winery locations in Chicago, Nashville, Atlanta, Boston, New York and Washington D.C beginning on March 11. The band will also appear at Sellersville Theater in Sellersville, Pennsylvania on March 17.

Solstice Tracklist

  1. Superlover featuring Birds of Chicago
  2. Fly With Me featuring Sharde Thomas
  3. Hallelujah (I’m a Dreamer) featuring Amy LaVere
  4. Like A Songbird That Has Fallen featuring Amy Helm
  5. Kathy featuring Birds of Chicago
  6. Hold To His Hand featuring The Como Mamas
  7. The Night Is Still Young featuring Amy LaVere
  8. Sing To Me featuring Amy Helm
  9. We Made It featuring Sharde Thomas
  10. Cricket (At Night I Can Fly) featuring Amy LaVere
  11. Til It’s Gone featuring Birds of Chicago
  12. Search Me featuring The Como Mamas

Loading band summary

JamBase Collections