Lucius Announces New Acoustic Album ‘NUDES’ & Shares Single


Lucius stripped things down to basics for their new studio album. The group revealed NUDES, which will be released on March 2 via Mom + Pop Music, will be a 10-track collection of acoustic songs. The band, fronted by Jess Wolfe and Holly Laessig, have also recruited a pair of high-profile guests to assist.

Recorded over two days at Electric Lady Studios in New York City, the record features new songs, reworked ones from their catalog and a trio of eclectic covers including Tame Impala’s “Eventually” and Gerry Raftery’s “Right Down The Line.” Wolfe and Laessig also enlisted help from former Pink Floyd bassist Roger Waters, whom they’ve provided backing vocals for on his Us + Them Tour, for a take on the traditional tune “Goodnight Irene.” The pair also tapped Wilco guitar-god Nels Cline to assist on “Million Dollar Secret,” which they released last year as a single.

Jess and Holly had this to say about the release:

Amidst nearly every performance over the past few years, we’ve had the opportunity to strip away everything – be it at the center of the crowd, or on stage around one microphone, or in tiny, unexpected rooms around the world – all to share and create an intimate, heartfelt connection with our audience. It’s these moments that have inspired our newest project, NUDES. Recorded over two days at New York’s legendary Electric Lady Studios, NUDES is a collection of acoustic songs: new, from our back catalog – reimagined, and covers we’ve always wanted to record. It is a record giving homage to what has been … and a hint at what’s to come.

Lucius will celebrate the release of their third studio album with a trio of sold-out shows at Los Angeles’s Largo Theater, which also serve as the kick off to a month-long cross-country tour.

Listen to the album’s lead single “Neighbors” below:

NUDES Tracklist

  1. Woman
  2. Right Down the Line (Gerry Rafferty cover)
  3. Tempest
  4. Something About You
  5. Neighbors
  6. Eventually (Tame Impala cover)
  7. Until We Get There
  8. Million Dollar Secret (featuring Nels Cline)
  9. Feels Like a Curse
  10. Goodnight, Irene (traditional) (featuring Roger Waters)

Tour Dates for

    • Carretera Cancun-Chetumal KM 72
    • Riviera Maya
    • Mexico
  • May
  • Jun
  • Jun
  • Jun
  • Jun