Lockn’ Festival 2018 Lineup Continues To Expand With 10 Acts Now Confirmed


Late last week, Lockn’ Festival organizers revealed Dead & Company will headline and play a total of four sets over two nights at this year’s festival. Ever since, Lockn’ organizers have been confirming additional acts leading up to Thursday’s announcement of the full lineup for the Arrington, Virginia event, which takes place August 23 – 26 at Infinity Downs and Oak Ridge Farm.

Lockn’ has been adding acts to the lineup since Thursday and updating a lineup/schedule graphic featuring the remaining unannounced acts’ names blurred out. Umphrey’s McGee returns to the event for a pair of Thursday night Main Stage sets and a late afternoon performance on Friday. Lettuce will not only play a pair of sets surrounding UM’s performances on Thursday, but they will also pay tribute to the Jerry Garcia Band with what’s sure to be a special “Don’t Lett Go” set on Saturday.

Neil Young & Crazy Horse were supposed to headline the inaugural Lockn’, when an injury to guitarist Frank “Poncho” Sampedro led the band to cancel. While Neil isn’t on the Lockn’ ’18 lineup (at least as of press time), his current touring band will be. Lukas Nelson & Promise Of The Real are aboard for a 2:30 p.m. set on Saturday. George Clinton & P-Funk scored the 9 p.m. slot on Friday, while legendary reggae act Toots & The Maytals plays the Main Stage at 6:30 p.m. on Friday. Turkuaz are also confirmed for Friday.

Both Saturday and Sunday’s Main Stage action will end with two sets from Dead & Company. The ante has been upped as Tedeschi Trucks Band will play a set at 6:45 p.m. ET on Saturday and Sunday nights to set the stage for D&C. Finally, other acts confirmed for Saturday are Baltimore’s own Pigeons Playing Ping Pong and Houston-based soul act The Suffers. The Suffers had to miss last year’s festival after Hurricane Harvey ravaged their home city.

Stay tuned for more Lockn’ announcements. “Nice Price Tickets” go on sale Friday, February 9.

[Tedeschi Trucks Band @ Lockn’ ’16 – Let Me Get By]