Leslie Mendelson Announces New Album ‘If You Can’t Say Anything Nice…’ & Shares Single


Singer-songwriter Leslie Mendelson will release a new album entitled If You Can’t Say Anything Nice… via Royal Potato Family on April 17. Mendelson previewed the 10-track record by sharing its title track, “If You Can’t Say Anything Nice…”

The follow-up to 2017’s Love & Murder was largely inspired by John Lennon’s Plastic Ono Band album. Leslie’s longtime co-writer and guitarist Steve McEwan co-produced If You Can’t Say Anything Nice… with engineer and bassist Lorenzo Wolff. Mendelson aimed to honor Plastic Ono Band’s “no-frills piano, bass, drums, and guitar approach.”

“The best time to make a rock n’ roll record is when you’re broke and pissed off,” explained Mendelson in a statement. “We had started and stopped recording on a handful of occasions, trying to figure out how to make the album on a small budget, but also without making another folk-leaning record like ‘Love & Murder.’ Around this same time, I had rediscovered and fallen in love all over again with John Lennon’s ‘Plastic Ono Band’ and it instantly provided a road map for how to move forward.” Listen to “If You Can’t Say Anything Nice…” below:


Mendelson will support Jackie Greene on a run of dates in the Northeast this May.

If You Can’t Say Anything Nice… Tracklist

  1. Lay It All On Me
  2. Medication
  3. If You Can’t Say Anything Nice…
  4. Would You Give Up Your Gun?
  5. All Come Together
  6. I Need Something To Care About
  7. The Hardest Part
  8. Flesh & Bone
  9. Speed of Light
  10. My Dark Peace