Kurt Vile Announces New Album ‘(watch my moves)’ & Shares Single

Vile will team with The Violators for an extensive tour in support of the upcoming album.

By Scott Bernstein Feb 15, 2022 10:12 am PST

Kurt Vile detailed (watch my moves), a new studio album featuring lead single “Like Exploding Stones.” The 15-track LP marks Vile’s Verve Records debut and is due out on April 15 with a tour in support of the LP to begin on April 26.

(watch my moves) is Kurt Vile’s ninth solo full-length album with the last 2018’s Bottle It In. Vile recorded his new album mainly at a home studio dubbed “OKV Central” he built in Philadelphia’s Mount Airy neighborhood. “When Waylon Jennings became an outlaw country artist, he liked to record at Hillbilly Central, which was Tompall Glaser’s studio,” Vile explained in a press release. “OKV Central is my version of that in Mount Airy. I’ve come into my own here, and at the same time I’m getting back to my home-recording roots.”

Kurt produced (watch my moves) himself though longtime collaborator Rob Schnapf (Richard Thompson, Elliott Smith) also contributed to the sessions. The LP features 14 new originals along with a cover of Bruce Springsteen’s “Wages Of Sin.” Vile enlisted his backing band, The Violators, to appear on (watch my moves). Other contributors include Schnapf and Sun Ra Arkestra’s James Stewart as well as special guests Chastity Belt, Cate Le Bon and percussionists Stella Mozgawa (Warpaint, Courtney Barnett) and Sarah Jones (Hot Chip, Harry Styles).

The U.S. leg of Kurt Vile & The Violators’ 2022 Tour starts in Norfolk, Virginia on April 26. Dates in North Carolina, Georgia, Tennessee, Oklahoma, Texas, Arizona, California, Oregon, Washington, Idaho, Colorado, Minnesota, Wisconsin, Illinois, New York and Pennsylvania follow. Vile will then bring the band to Europe for shows in August and September. Tickets go on sale this Friday, February 18 at 10 a.m. local time through Ticketmaster.com and other outlets.

“Like Exploding Stones” arrived with a video featuring James Stewart. Check out the visual below:

(watch my moves) Tracklist

  1. Goin on a Plane Today
  2. Flyin (like a fast train)
  3. Palace of OKV in Reverse
  4. Like Exploding Stones
  5. Mount Airy Hill (Way Gone)
  6. Hey Like a Child
  7. Jesus on a Wire
  8. Fo Sho
  9. Cool Water
  10. Chazzy Don’t Mind
  11. (shiny things)
  12. Say the Word
  13. Wages of Sin
  14. kurt runner
  15. Stuffed Leopard

Loading band summary

JamBase Collections