Justin Bieber Reveals Next Album Features ‘Wicked’ John Mayer Solo

Bieber teased the collaboration during an appearance with Ebro Darden on Apple Music 1.

By Scott Bernstein May 4, 2022 8:09 am PDT

Pop star Justin Bieber has nearly finished his next studio album. Bieber discussed the forthcoming LP with Ebro Darden on Apple Music 1 and teased a collaboration with John Mayer.

The Canadian artist shared the following with Darden about working with Mayer:

John Mayer is on the project which is pretty sick. Wicked guitar solo so that was really cool for me. He’s someone who I’ve looked up to for a long time. So we were at Henson the studio and I was working on this song and he came in and he’s like, “Can I go in the booth?” And I was like, “Yeah, bro, go in.” And so he went in the booth and then he came out and he laid a guitar solo and it was just like, it was mind blowing to see him actually operate in his gift like that being able to like see it firsthand because like he is on another level. It’s insane.

“I don’t think there’s a date yet, but I do know that we’re wrapping it up,” noted Bieber in regards to his next album. “It’s almost done. It sounds really good. I’m really excited about it. I got a lot of cool features and yeah, it should be dropping not too long from now.”

Justin Bieber recently released the new single “Honest” featuring Don Toliver. Watch its visual below:

John Mayer brought his Sob Rock tour to Toronto last night. Former touring drummer and longtime Tedeschi Trucks Band member J.J. Johnson was behind the kit at Scotiabank Arena. Johnson previously joined Mayer during the trek’s Washington D.C. tour stop on February 23. Steve Ferrone started out as the drummer for the Sob Rock tour and missed a few gigs in February after testing positive for COVID. Aaron Sterling replaced Ferrone over the past few weeks.


John Mayer at Scotiabank Arena

Full band with J.J. Johnson
  • Last Train Home
  • Belief
  • Who Says
  • Shot in the Dark
  • Clarity
  • I Don't Trust Myself (With Loving You)
  • Helpless
  • Can't Find My Way Home  
  • Walt Grace's Submarine Test, January 1967
  • In Your Atmosphere
  • Free Fallin'  
Full band with J.J. Johnson
  • Your Body Is a Wonderland
  • Wild Blue
  • Stop This Train
  • Moving On and Getting Over
  • The Beautiful Ones  
  • Slow Dancing in a Burning Room
  • Edge of Desire
  • Gravity  
  • New Light
  • J.J. Johnson

Loading band summary

JamBase Collections