Jonathan Wilson Announces New Album ‘Rare Birds’ & Shares Single


Multi-tooled musician Jonathan Wilson has announced a new album entitled Rare Birds. Featuring the lead single “Over The Midnight,” Bella Union will issue the new LP on March 2.

The Los Angeles-based Wilson has recently been touring with Roger Waters and he also produced the Grammy-nominated Father John Misty album Pure Comedy, which came out earlier this year. Josh Tillman (Father John Misty) is among the guests who contributed to Rare Birds, along with Lucius, Lana Del Rey and New Age icon Laraaji. Described in a statement as “maximalist,” the album was produced by Wilson and recorded at his Fivestarstudios in Echo Park, Los Angeles. The the 13-track LP follows-up 2013’s Fanfare and 2011’s Gentle Spirit.

Rare Birds is the first of Wilson’s albums to feature drum machines and synthesizers. The album was recorded while Wilson was in the studio contributing to Waters’ Grammy-nominated solo album Is This The Life We Really Want? which influenced the expanded soundscapes on Rare Birds.

“I can say without a doubt that Rare Birds is my favorite work to date,” Wilson wrote. “These are my favorite songs I’ve ever written. It’s really not a concept album, it is meant more as a healing affair, a rejuvenation, a reconciliation, for others, for me … I wanted to balance personal narrative with the need I feel in 2018 for calming healing music. I think we need whimsical surrealism, journeys in sound, psychedelic gossamer affairs … I have included elements consciously and purposefully that I think will incite hope, positivity, reflection, longing, patience, mastery, abandon, fire, soothing meditation, agitation … it’s all in there. I hope you love it.”

Wilson will tour in support of the new album, with run of sold-out shows in L.A. later this month. Additional headline appearances are planned next March and April with shows taking place in Chicago, New York City, Washington D.C., Philadelphia and Boston. A European run is also planned between appearances backing Waters.

“I wanted to write a song about a sacred place for lovers to exist and I named that destination, process, mood or feeling ‘Over the Midnight,’” Wilson stated. “ It’s a place where nothing is savage.”

Watch the Andrea Nakhla-directed “Over The Midnight” video here:

Rare Birds Tracklist

  1. Trafalgar Square ^
  2. Me
  3. Over The Midnight
  4. There’s A Light ^
  5. Sunset Blvd
  6. Rare Birds ^
  7. Hairflips *
  8. Mariam Montague
  9. Loving You +
  10. Living With Myself #
  11. Hard To Get Over
  12. Hi Ho the Righteous
  13. Mullholland Queen
  • ^ backing vocals by Lucius
  • * backing vocals by Josh Tillman/Father John Misty
  • + backing vocals by Laraaji
  • # backing vocals by Lana Del Rey

Tour Dates for
Jonathan Wilson

  • Feb