John Prine Streams New Album ‘The Tree of Forgiveness’

By Andy Kahn Apr 9, 2018 8:26 am PDT

This week, renowned singer-songwriter John Prine will release a new studio album The Tree Of Forgiveness via his label Oh Boy Records. NPR Music’s First Listen series has made the full album available to stream in advance of its official release this Friday, April 13.

The 71-year-old’s first album of new original material in over 13 years was recorded with producer Dave Cobb. Sessions were held in Prine’s current hometown of Nashville at the famed RCA Studio A.

The featuring 10 tracks, The Tree Of Forgiveness includes songs co-written by Prine and Dan Auerbach, Pat McLaughlin, Roger Cook, Keith Sykes and Phil Spector. Special guests Jason Isbell, Amanda Shires and Brandi Carlile appear on the album, along with Cobb and members of Prine’s longtime backing band.

Prine will appear on The Late Show With Stephen Colbert this Thursday, April 12 with Carlile and Sturgill Simpson. The latter will also join Prine the following evening for a co-headlining performance at Radio City Music Hall in New York City. Prine has several additional tour dates scheduled in the coming months in support of the new record.


Stream The Tree Of Forgiveness via the link to NPR Music below:


The Tree Of Forgiveness Tracklist

  1. Knockin’ On Your Screen Door
  2. I Have Met My Love Today (ft. Brandi Carlile)
  3. Egg & Daughter Nite, Lincoln Nebraska, 1967 (Crazy Bone)
  4. Summer’s End
  5. Caravan of Fools
  6. The Lonesome Friends of Science
  7. No Ordinary Blue
  8. Boundless Love
  9. God Only Knows
  10. When I Get to Heaven

Loading tour dates

JamBase Collections