John Prine, Cat Stevens & Missy Elliott Among Songwriters Hall Of Fame 2019 Inductees


As reported, in November the Songwriters Hall Of Fame shared a list of nominees for their 2019 class. Yesterday, the organization revealed that John Prine, Cat Stevens, Missy Elliott, Tom T. Hall, Dallas Austin and Jack Tempchin have been selected to become the newest inductees.

The six songwriters will be honored at the 50th Annual Induction and Awards Dinner, which will take place on June 13 at the Marriott Marquis Hotel in New York City. “I’m very proud that in my first year as Chairman of the Songwriter’s Hall of Fame that we are recognizing some of the culturally most important songwriters of all time,” shared SHOF Chairman Nile Rodgers. “The 2019 slate of inductees represents diversity and unity across genres and gender, highlighting our dedicated mission to honor music creators who have enriched our lives. These are writers who in their time literally transformed music and helped make what’s happening today possible”. Additional special award honorees will be announced soon.