John Mayer Trio Offers Tour Debut Of ‘Ain’t No Sunshine’ In DC


John Mayer brought his The Search For Everything Tour to the Verizon Center in Washington D.C. for a concert Thursday night. During the John Mayer Trio portion of the evening, the guitarist led a cover of “Ain’t No Sunshine” for its tour debut.

Mayer has presented shows featuring beginning with a full band, followed by a solo acoustic portion, a John Mayer Trio segment and a reprise of the full band. Last night’s mid-show Trio sequence featuring drummer Steve Jordan and bassist Pino Palladino began with Mayer’s “Who Did You Think I Was.” The tour debut of Bill Withers’ “Ain’t No Sunshine” came next, with “Bold As Love” by Jimi Hendrix rounding out the Trio set.

The show’s acoustic set featured the tour debut of Mayer’s Room For Squares cut “3×5” and the full band encore saw the tour’s first rendition of the Born And Raised title track. View audience-shot footage of “Ain’t No Sunshine” below:

[Ain’t No Sunshine | Captured byGuitar Music Pro]

[Captured by Dustin Nichols]

[Captured by eastcoastemily]


John Mayer at Verizon Center

Full Band
  • Belief
  • Why Georgia
  • I Don't Trust Myself (With Loving You)
  • Love on the Weekend
  • Vultures
  • 3x5  
  • Emoji of a Wave
  • Your Body Is a Wonderland
  • Free Fallin'  
  • Who Did You Think I Was  
  • Ain't No Sunshine  
  • Bold as Love  
Full Band
  • Moving On and Getting Over
  • Blues Run the Game  
  • Queen of California
  • Who Says
  • Stitched Up  
  • Slow Dancing in a Burning Room
  • Still Feel Like Your Man
  • Born and Raised
  • You're Gonna Live Forever in Me