John Mayer Covers Grateful Dead’s ‘Ripple’ In Charlotte


John Mayer continued his tour in Charlotte last night at the Spectrum Center. The Dead & Company guitarist paid homage to Grateful Dead guitarist Jerry Garcia on the anniversary of his death by playig “Ripple” at the start of Friday’s encore.

Mayer opened up with two tunes from his latest album, The Search For Everything, with “Helpless” and “Love On The Weekend.” Next up was “Wildfire,” “Who Says” and “No Such Thing.” “I Don’t Trust Myself (With Loving You) came next followed by “Changing,” “Queen Of California,” and the new single “I Guess I Just Feel Like.” “Edge of Desire” closed out the first set.

Mayer opened up the second set with an acoustic section of “Walt Grace’s Submarine Test, January 1967” ahead of “Your Body Is A Wonderland” and “Neon.” The band would join him on “Belief” and “Still Feel Like Your Man” before “Rosie” and a “3×5” tease. “If I Ever Get Around To Living” came next in front of “Slow Dancing In A Burning Room.” “In The Blood,” “Waiting On The World To Change” followed before the set closer “Gravity.”

Mayer then treated the audience to a solo acoustic performance of the Grateful Dead classic “Ripple” while an image of Garcia was projected on a screen behind the stage. “Born And Raised” and the new single “New Light” wrapped up the night. Watch footage of Mayer playing “Ripple” captured by livemusic41 below:


John Mayer at Spectrum Center

Set 1
  • Helpless
  • Love on the Weekend
  • Wildfire
  • Who Says
  • No Such Thing
  • I Don't Trust Myself (With Loving You)
  • Changing
  • Queen of California
  • I Guess I Just Feel Like
  • Edge of Desire
Set 2
  • Walt Grace's Submarine Test, January 1967  
  • Your Body Is a Wonderland  
  • Neon  
  • Belief
  • Still Feel Like Your Man
  • Rosie
  • 3x5  
  • If I Ever Get Around to Living
  • Slow Dancing in a Burning Room  
  • In the Blood
  • Waiting on the World to Change
  • Gravity
  • Ripple  
  • Born and Raised
  • New Light

Tour Dates for
John Mayer