Listen To ‘Valerie’ From Jerry Garcia Band’s June 1982 Cape Cod Concert Selected For ‘GarciaLive Vol. 20’

Grateful Dead drummer Bill Kreutzmann is behind the kit on the archival release coming out on June 30.

By Andy Kahn May 19, 2023 12:52 pm PDT

Jerry Garcia’s archival GarciaLive series will continue with its 20th volume featuring the Jerry Garcia Band’s performance on June 18, 1982 at the Cape Cod Coliseum in South Yarmouth, Massachusetts. The recording of “Valerie” captured on GarciaLive Vol. 20, featuring Grateful Dead drummer Bill Kreutzmann, was shared in advance of the latter’s June 30 release.

In addition to the eight-song set JGB played on June 18, 1982, GarciaLive Vol 20. is rounded out with, for the first time in the series, “filler” from another show. Culled from JGB’s June 1, 1981 concert at The Stone in San Francisco, the bonus tracks include previously uncirculated/unheard recordings of Jimmy Cliff’s “Sitting In Limbo,” J.J. Cale’s “After Midnight,” Bob Dylan’s “Tangled Up In Blue” and Garcia’s “Deal.”

Regarding the June 30, 1982 show’s selection for the GarciaLive series, a description of the release follows:

The early ‘80s marked a transitional period for the Jerry Garcia Band. After beginning the decade with the lean & mean quartet showcased on After Midnight and GarciaLive Volume One, Garcia & John Kahn would go on to experiment with personnel configurations expanding the line-up considerably.

By the time the Jerry Garcia Band rolled into the Cape Cod Coliseum co-headliners [with] Bobby & the Midnites, the lineup included Grateful Dead bandmate Bill Kreutzmann (drums), Melvin Seals (organ), Jimmy Warren (electric piano) and Liz Stires and Julie Stafford (backing vocals). While the co-headline format limited each group to a single 90-minute set, Garcia’s eight-song set packed plenty of punch. The requisite “How Sweet It Is” opener wastes no time getting down to business with a galloping tempo punctuated by crisp solos from Garcia, Warren, & Seals.

The relative rarity “Valerie,” marking its first appearance here on an archival release, and extended, show-stopping takes on “Dear Prudence” and “Don’t Let Go” follow to the crowd’s obvious delight. Other highlights from Cape Cod include a poignant take on Dylan’s “Simple Twist of Fate” and the freshly written “Run for the Roses.”

According to, “Valerie” was performed publicly by Jerry Garcia with JGB and as a duo with John Kahn a little over 100 times. The original song written by Garcia and Robert Hunter was first performed in September 1981 and saw its final Garcia setlist in 1986.

Pre-order GarciaLive Vol. 20 and listen to “Valerie” from the pending live release below:

GarciaLive Vol. 20 Tracklist

  1. How Sweet It Is (To Be Loved by You)
  2. Valerie
  3. Dear Prudence
  4. Mississippi Moon
  5. Don’t Let Go
  6. Simple Twist of Fate
  7. Run for the Roses
  8. They Love Each Other
  9. Filler: June 1st, 1981 – The Stone – San Francisco, CA

  10. Sitting in Limbo
  11. After Midnight
  12. Deal ->
  13. Tangled Up in Blue
JamBase Collections