‘GarciaLive Vol 16’ Features 1991 Jerry Garcia Band Concert At Madison Square Garden

By Scott Bernstein May 5, 2021 10:16 am PDT

The next Jerry Garcia live archival release will feature the Jerry Garcia Band‘s November 15, 1991 concert at Madison Square Garden in New York City. GarciaLive Vol. 16 arrives via Round Records on June 25 and has been previewed with “My Sisters And Brothers.”

Garcia and company’s stop at MSG came in the middle of a lengthy Jerry Garcia Band tour and marked the group’s debut at the venue. The Jerry Garcia Band lineup at the time found the guitarist backed by bassist John Kahn, keyboardist Melvin Seals, drummer David Kemper and vocalists Jaclyn LaBranch and Gloria Jones.

Both JGB sets and the encore from a night that saw Blues Traveler open are featured on GarciaLive Vol. 16. Highlights include takes on The Manhattan’s “Shining Star,” Bob Dylan’s “Simple Twist Of Fate,” Van Morrison’s “He Ain’t Give You None” and the evening’s “(What A) Wonderful World” encore.

GarciaLive Vol. 16 is due as a 3CD set, digital download and will be shared on select streaming services. Dean Budnick wrote the liner notes incorporating memories from Seals, LaBranch, publicist Dennis McNally and Blues Traveler frontman John Popper.

Listen to “My Sisters And Brothers” from GarciaLive Vol. 16 below:

GarciaLive Vol. 16 Tracklist

Disc One

Set One:

  1. How Sweet It Is (To Be Loved By You)
  2. Struggling Man
  3. He Ain’t Give You None
  4. Simple Twist of Fate
  5. Lay Down Sally

Disc Two

  1. The Night They Drove Old Dixie Down
  2. My Sisters and Brothers
  3. Deal
  4. Set Two:

  5. The Way You Do The Things You Do
  6. Waiting For A Miracle
  7. Shining Star
  8. Ain’t No Bread in the Breadbox

Disc Three

  1. Don’t Let Go
  2. That Lucky Old Sun >
  3. Bright Side of the Road
  4. Encore:

  5. (What A) Wonderful World
JamBase Collections