Jerry Douglas Band Shares Cover Of ‘Hey Joe’ From Upcoming Album


Multiple-Grammy winner Jerry Douglas will release the latest Jerry Douglas Band album on August 18. What If finds the band joined by a horn section and includes a cover of a song popularized by Jimi Hendrix. The Jerry Douglas Band’s version of “Hey Joe” recently premiered via Rolling Stone.

Billy Roberts originally wrote “Hey Joe” with the Jimi Hendrix Experience recording a cover of the tune in December 1966. Douglas’ version uses the horns to provide a more Motown-esque rendition. “If there’s guilt involved about advancing the music and trying to change it at all, I’m certainly guilty of that and bringing other influences from other genres of music into it,” Douglas told Rolling Stone in 2014.

Watch the video for the Jerry Douglas Band’s “Hey Joe”:

What If Tracklist

  1. Cavebop
  2. Unfolding
  3. 2:19
  4. What If
  5. Hey Joe
  6. Battle Stick
  7. Go Ahead & Leave
  8. Butcher Boy
  9. Freemantle
  10. The Last Wild Moor
  11. Hot Country 84.5

Tour Dates for
Jerry Douglas Band

We don’t currently have any upcoming shows for Jerry Douglas Band.

Pro Tip: Click “Add to My Bands” above and we’ll notify you when Jerry Douglas Band announces shows in your area.