Jeff Tweedy Appears On ‘Hilarious World Of Depression’ Podcast & Adds To Mavis Staples Track


On Monday night Wilco kicked off their final run of 2017 and what is expected to be the band’s last series of shows until 2019. Jeff Tweedy talked about the group on a recent installment of The Hilarious World Of Depression. In other Tweedy news, a track from the new Mavis Staples album, which Jeff produced, has been shared ahead of the LP’s release on Friday.

Wilco’s November run opener featured a career-spanning mix of songs including the return of “I Must Be High” and “We’ve Been Had.” The former was last played on February 5, 2016 while the former had been shelved since September 13, 2016. The concert took place at The Pageant in St. Louis. Head to the bottom of the post for a series of fan-shot videos thanks to Andvari and the setlist.

Tweedy’s appearance on The Hilarious World Of Depression, as pointed out by Brooklyn Vegan, saw the Wilco frontman talk honestly about his battles with depression, his relationship with the late Jay Bennett, the evolution of his issues with drugs and his burgeoning comedy career. Jeff admitted a Wilco fan helped him score painkillers during the days before he became clean, revealed Bennett leaving Wilco was crucial to the band’s health as well as his own and talked about his appearance on Parks & Rec. Head here to listen.

The new Mavis Staples album If All I Was Was Black is due out on Friday. Jeff Tweedy produced the album and performs on the LP. Stream the track “Ain’t No Doubt About It,” which features contributions from the Wilco frontman:

If All I Was Was Black Tracklist

  1. Little Bit
  2. If All I Was Was Black
  3. Who Told You That
  4. Ain’t No Doubt About It (feat. Jeff Tweedy)
  5. Peaceful Dream
  6. No Time For Crying
  7. Build a Bridge
  8. We Go High
  9. Try Harder
  10. All Over Again

Wilco November 13 Videos (Captured by Andvari)


[Jesus Etc.]

[The Late Greats]

[I’m The Man Who Loves You]


[I Must Be High]


[Bull Black Nova]


Wilco at The Pageant

  • Cry All Day
  • I Am Trying to Break Your Heart
  • Art of Almost
  • Pickled Ginger
  • At Least That's What You Said
  • If I Ever Was a Child
  • Misunderstood
  • Someone to Lose
  • Handshake Drugs
  • Via Chicago
  • Bull Black Nova
  • Reservations
  • Impossible Germany
  • New Madrid  
  • California Stars  
  • I Must Be High
  • We've Been Had  
  • Heavy Metal Drummer
  • I'm the Man Who Loves You
  • Hummingbird
  • The Late Greats
  • Random Name Generator
  • Jesus, Etc.
  • Spiders (Kidsmoke)
  • Casino Queen
  • Outtasite (Outta Mind)

Tour Dates for
Jeff Tweedy

  • Oct
    • 87 Marshall Street
    • North Adams, MA 01247
    • United States