Jeff Parker & The New Breed Cover David Bowie’s ‘Soul Love’

Jeff Parker and the New Breed, Khruangbin, Meshell Ndegeocello, The Hics and Nia Andrews are among the contributors to Modern Love, a David Bowie tribute album put together by BBE Music set to arrive on May 28. Today, BBE Music unveiled Jeff Parker & The New Breed’s version of “Soul Love” from the compilation.

“Soul Love” was originally released by David Bowie on his iconic 1972 album The Rise & Fall Of Ziggy Stardust & The Spiders From Mars. Parker interpreted the song with help from New Breed drummer Jay Bellerose and vocalist Ruby Parker. Jeff played both guitar and synth on “Soul Love.”

“Bowie’s career went through a lot of different phases because he was always looking forward and trying new things. Above all, he was an artist and an innovator,” Parker explained in a statement. “I was attracted to the eccentricity of ‘Soul Love’ as soon as I heard it; Ruby and I were channeling the muse of Bowie when we tackled our rendition of it, trying to stay with his experimental, but accessible, spirit.”

Jonah Mutano’s cover of “Modern Love” was also unveiled today. Previously shared tracks from the compilation include We Are KING’s “Space Oddity” as well as Helado Negro’s “Sound & Vision” and The Hics’ “The Man Who Sold The World.”

Check out Jeff Parker & The New Breed’s “Soul Love” below:

Modern Love Tracklist

  1. Miguel Atwood-Ferguson – “Life On Mars”
  2. Healdo Negro – “Sound & Vision”
  3. Kit Sebastian – “Lady Grinning Soul ”
  4. Jeff Parker and The New Breed (feat. Ruby Parker) – “Soul Love”
  5. Sessa – “Panic In Detroit”
  6. The Hics – “The Man Who Sold The World”
  7. Khruangbin – “Right”
  8. Nia Andrews – “Silly Boy Blue”
  9. Foxtrott – “Chant Of The Ever Circling Skeletal Family”
  10. L’Rain – “Move On”
  11. Jonah Mutono – “Modern Love”
  12. Bullion – “Where Are We Now”
  13. Eddie Chacon & John Carroll Kirby – “TNGHT”
  14. Léa Sen – “Golden Years”
  15. Meshell Ndegeocello – “Fantastic Voyage”
  16. We Are KING – “Space Oddity”
  17. Matthew Tavares – “Heroes”