Jason Isbell Shares 2 Previously Unreleased Tracks From Debut Solo Album


New West Records will reissue singer-songwriter Jason Isbell‘s debut solo album Sirens Of The Ditch on July 13. A deluxe edition of the 2007 record includes four previously unreleased studio tracks. NPR Music has shared two of those recordings.

Jason Isbell left the Drive-By Truckers shortly before the release of Sirens Of The Ditch. Isbell co-produced the LP with the Truckers’ Patterson Hood. Patterson also contributed guitar work to what was originally an 11-track effort. Spooner Oldham, Mike Dillon, David Barbe and Brad Morgan are among the other musicians who lent their talents Sirens Of The Ditch, which was recorded at the legendary FAME Studios in Jason’s hometown of Muscle Shoals, Alabama.


The first of the two tracks shared by NPR Music is the Patterson Hood-penned “The Assassin.” Isbell has performed the song live a number of times including at a recent solo show held at Classic Cinemas Tivoli Theatre in Downers Grove, Illinois on February 27. Also unveiled today is the pretty ballad “Whisper.” Sirens Of The Ditch is available for pre-order in multiple formats here.

Listen to the two previously unreleased tracks below:

[The Assassin]



Sirens Of The Ditch (Deluxe Edition) Tracklist

  1. Brand New Kind Of Actress
  2. Down In A Hole
  3. Try
  4. Chicago Promenade
  5. Dress Blues
  6. Grown
  7. Hurricanes And Hand Grenades
  8. In A Razor Town
  9. Shotgun Wedding
  10. The Magician
  11. The Devil Is My Running Mate
  12. Whisper*
  13. Crystal Clear*
  14. The Assassin*
  15. Racetrack Romeo*
  16. * – Previously Unreleased

    • Upcoming Shows

Related Bands

Related Articles

Featured Articles

More articles