Jason Isbell & The 400 Unit Confirm New Album ‘Reunions’ & Share Single


Jason Isbell and The 400 Unit will release a new album, Reunions, on May 15 via Southeastern Records/Thirty Tigers. The group shared the LP’s lead single, “Be Afraid.”

The 10-track Reunions follows the band’s last album, 2017’s The Nashville Sound. The record contains the previously performed “Overseas,” which Isbell debuted last summer. Isbell recorded Reunions with his frequent collaborator, producer Dave Cobb, at Nashville’s famed RCA Studio A. Guest backing vocals were provided by David Crosby and Jay Buchanan.

“There are a lot of ghosts on this album,” Isbell stated. “Sometimes the songs are about the ghosts of people who aren’t around anymore, but they’re also about who I used to be, the ghost of myself. I found myself writing songs that I wanted to write 15 years ago, but in those days, I hadn’t written enough songs to know how to do it yet. Just now have I been able to pull it off to my own satisfaction. In that sense it’s a reunion with the me I was back then.”


Jason Isbell and The 400 Unit also announced several new tour dates in support of the upcoming release. Stream the Reunions lead single “Be Afraid” and find its tracklist below:


Reunions Tracklist

  1. What’ve I Done to Help
  2. Dreamsicle
  3. Only Children
  4. Overseas
  5. Running with Our Eyes Closed
  6. River
  7. Be Afraid
  8. St. Peter’s Autograph
  9. It Gets Easier
  10. Letting You Go