Jason Isbell & The 400 Unit Releases ‘Live From Welcome To 1979’ On Bandcamp

By Nate Todd May 7, 2021 10:44 am PDT

Jason Isbell and The 400 Unit released Live From Welcome To 1979 via Bandcamp today for Bandcamp Friday. Isbell and company captured the set at Nashville’s Welcome To 1979 vintage recording facility on November 11, 2016.

The Jason Isbell And The 400 Unit lineup for the recording — which previously saw a release for Record Store Day in April 2017 — consisted of guitarists Jason Isbell and Sadler Vaden, drummer Chad Gamble, bassist Jimbo Hart and keyboardist Derry deBorja. The band kicked off the cover-filled six-song set with The Rolling Stones‘ “Can’t You Hear Me Knocking” and also performed The Stones’ “Sway,” both off 1971’s Sticky Fingers.

The collection also includes John Prine’s “Storm Windows” and Bruce Springsteen’s “Atlantic City.” The live record’s two originals are “Heart On A String” and “Never Gonna Change,” the latter from Isbell’s tenure with Drive-By Truckers.

Preview Live From 1979 with “Never Gonna Change” below and head to Bancamp to purchase the album along with a commemorative poster by Yellowhammer Creative:

JamBase Collections