James Taylor Announces First Album Of New Material In 13 Years

By Scott Bernstein Apr 7, 2015 10:37 am PDT

James Taylor has announced the upcoming release of his new album, Before This World. The LP will be released June 16 through the Concord record label and is the first new material issued by the singer-songwriter in 13 years. Taylor last issued an album of original work with his 2002 record October Road. His most recent album, the aptly titled Covers, was released in 2008 and included Taylor’s takes on other artists’ songs.

 Recorded at Taylor’s home studio TheBarn, in Washington, Massachusetts with producer Dave O’Donnell, Before This World features 10 songs, including nine new original Taylor compositions and a take on the traditional “Wild Mountain Thyme.” Joining Taylor in the studio were drummer Steve Gadd, percussionist Luis Conte, guitarist Michael Landau, bassist Jimmy Johnson, keyboardist Larry Goldings and fiddler and vocalist Andrea Zonn. Taylor also brought in special guests Yo-Yo Ma and Sting as well as his wife Kim Smedvig Taylor and son Henry Taylor who added harmonies to two tracks.

The album’s first track and lead single, “Today Today Today,” has been made available and can be streamed above. A deluxe CD/DVD edition of Before This World featuring a 30 minute behind-the-scenes documentary, There We Were: The Recording of James Taylor’s ‘Before This World,’ capturing the album’s recording process is also available.

Before This World Tracklist:

1. Today Today Today
2. You And I Again 
3. Angels Of Fenway
4. Stretch Of The Highway
5. Montana
6. Watchin’ Over Me 
7. SnowTime
8. Before This World / Jolly Springtime
9. Far Afghanistan
10. Wild Mountain Thyme 

JamBase Collections