Jake Peavy Among Jackie Greene’s Guests At 4th Annual Blue Rose Ball


Singer-songwriter Jackie Greene headlined the 4th annual Blue Rose Ball at the Mystic Theater in Petaluma, California on Saturday night. Jackie Greene & Friends were joined by a number of special guests at various points of their set.

Jackie’s band featured Fitz Harris and Bruce Spencer on drums, guitarist Nathan Dale, bassist Jon Cornell, Bruce Kaphan on pedal steel and keyboardists Jason Crosby and Alex Nelson. Greene & Friends kicked off the set with “Shaken” before bringing out vocalist Jillian Secor and guitarist Jeremy Plog for a cover of Traffic’s “Dear Mr. Fantasy.” Plog stuck around for a take on “Don’t Keep Me Wonderin’.” Later in the set, Jeremy returned for a version of The Allman Brothers Band’s “Ain’t Wastin’ Time No More.”

The set’s first baseball-related guest was former MLB player and coach Tim Flannery who contributed to Jackie’s “Don’t Let The Devil Take Your Mind.” Then, Alabama guitarist Ben Jernigan and 2007 NL Cy Young Award winner (and guitarist/vocalist) Jake Peavy emerged for covers of the Grateful Dead’s “Fire On The Mountain” and Thigpen/Banks/Marion’s “That’s What Love Will Make You Do.” Greene, his band, Peavy, Flannery, Plog and Midnight North’s Elliot Peck brought the set to a close with another Grateful Dead song, “Sugaree.”

Proceeds from the evening benefit the Blue Rose Foundation, which awards preschool scholarships to Sonoma County children that come from economically disadvantaged families.

Watch a short clip from the show captured by Luke Peavy:


Set: Shaken, Dear Mr. Fantasy (w/ Jillian Secor & Jeremy Plog), Don’t Keep Me Wonderin’ (w/ Jeremy Plog), I’m So Gone, Animal, Hot’lanta, Till The Light Comes, Ain’t Wastin’ Time No More (w/ Jeremy Plog), Don’t Let The Devil Take Your Mind (w/ Tim Flannery), Fire On The Mountain (w/ Jake Peavy & Ben Jernigan), That’s What Love Will Make You Do (w/ Jake Peavy & Ben Jernigan), Sugaree (w/ Jake Peavy, Tim Flannery, Jeremy Plog and Eliot Peck)