Instrumental Tribute Act Jazz Is Phish To Make Live Debut & Release Album


Following in the footsteps of noted Grateful Dead tribute act Jazz Is Dead comes . The instrumental tribute to Phish features members of The Giant Country Horns, Snarky Puppy, Dave Matthews Band, Victor Wooten Band, Sun Ra Arkestra, Strange Design and more. Jazz Is Phish is working on their debut album and will soon hit the road for live performances.

The group was founded by The Chase Brothers who are members of Phish cover band Strange Design. According to the band’s website, those participating in the recording of the band’s first album include Jeff Coffin (DMB), Michael Ray (Surrender To The Air, Cosmic Country Horns), Don Glasgo (Giant Country Horns), Chris Bullock (Snarky Puppy), Anthony Wellington (Victor Wooten Band), Adam Chase (Strange Design), Matthew Chase (Strange Design) and Josh Thomas.

So far Jazz Is Phish has three tour dates listed. The group will visit The Grey Eagle In Asheville on September 9, Macon’s Cox Capitol Theatre on September 10 and Smith’s Olde Bar in Atlanta on September 11. According to the listing for The Grey Eagle show, the lineup for the September tour includes Adam Chase, Matthew Chase, Anthony Wellington, Josh Thomas, Chris Bullock and Scott Flynn (Pretty Lights Live Band).