Indigo Girls Announce New Album ‘Look Long’ & Share Single


Indigo Girls will release their 16th album, Look Long, on April 24 via Rounder Records. The album features the lead single, “Shit Kickin’.”

Indigo Girls, Amy Ray and Emily Saliers, recorded Look Long with producer John Reynolds at Peter Gabriel’s Real World studios in Bath, England. Reynolds also produced and played drums on 1999’s Come On Now Social, and the same group of musicians on that record appears on Look Long, including bassist Clare Kenny, keyboardist Carole Isaacs, cellist Caroline Dalea and guitarist Justin Adams, as well as violinist Lyris Hung and vocalists Lucy Wainwright Roche and Lucy Jules.

“We’re still a bar band at heart,” Saliers stated. “Today, we joke about being old, but what is old when it comes to music? We’re just as inspired by younger artists, and the passion feels the same as it did when we were 25-years-old … People can feel lost in these times. Let’s lament our limitations, but let’s also look beyond what’s right in front of us, take the long view of things, and strive to do better.”


Indigo Girls recently debuted the Look Long track “Country Radio” during an appaearance on Live From Here. Stream “Shit Kickin’” below:


Look Long Tracklist

  1. Shit Kickin’
  2. Look Long
  3. Howl At the Moon
  4. When We Were Writers
  5. Change My Heart
  6. KC Girl
  7. Country Radio
  8. Muster
  9. Feel This Way Again
  10. Favorite Flavor
  11. Sorrow and Joy