Hot Buttered Rum Details New Album ‘Shine All Night’ & Shares Single

Hear the forthcoming studio album’s lead single, “No Reason Why.”

By Scott Bernstein Aug 24, 2022 12:39 pm PDT

Hot Buttered Rum will release a new studio album entitled Shine All Night on September 16. The Bay Area-based string band previewed the 10-song set by sharing its lead single and opening track, “No Reason Why.”

Shine All Night marks Hot Buttered Rum’s 12th album and first since 2020’s Something Beautiful. Formed in 2002, the group’s current lineup features Bryan Horne (double bass, vocals), Erik Yates (banjos, guitars, woodwinds, vocals), James Stafford (drums, percussion, mandolin), Jeff Coleman (keyboards) and Nat Keefe (guitar, vocals).

Erik Yates wrote “No Reason Why.” Yates said the following about the song to Bluegrass Today:

“I’ve become a believer in finishing songs fast – when I pick them up later, it’s best if they have some shape and weight to play with. No Reason Why was half-formed when I woke up one morning in February ’22, pulled mainly from a dream, and I did my best to stay sleepy so I could get it all out.”

Stream “No Reason Why,” which premiered via Bluegrass Today, below:

Pre-save Shine All Night here. Check out HBR’s tour dates below with more to come.

Loading tour dates

Shine All Night Tracklist

  1. No Reason Why
  2. Way Back Days
  3. Seasick Captain
  4. Broken Glass
  5. Find My Way
  6. Swerving
  7. Giving It Away
  8. Shining Twice
  9. Dreamers
  10. Good Times
JamBase Collections