Hiss Golden Messenger Announces New Holiday Album ‘O Come All Ye Faithful’

Listen to the original "Grace," the LP's lead single, featuring Aoife O'Donovan, Nathaniel Rateliff and Sonyia Turner.

By Scott Bernstein Oct 20, 2021 6:34 am PDT

The good news is that Hiss Golden Messenger (MC Taylor) brought his own sensibility to the new holiday album O Come All Ye Faithful. The better news is that the nine-track collection will be released in less than 48 hours on Friday, October 22 via Merge Records with lead single “Grace” out today.

Taylor wrote the soul-laden “Grace” as well as originals “Hung Fire” and “By The Lights Of St. Stephen” during the turbulent fall of 2020. O Come All Ye Faithful also includes Hiss Golden Messenger interpretations of Spiritualized’s “Shine A Light,” Woody Guthrie’s “Hanukkah Dance” and Creedence Clearwater Revival’s “As Long As I Can See The Light.” Additionally, MC and company took on traditional holiday tunes “O Come All Ye Faithful,” “Joy To The World” and “Silent Night.”

  • The JamBase Podcast: Hiss Golden Messenger's MC Taylor Returns

    The JamBase Podcast: Hiss Golden Messenger's MC Taylor Returns

    The JamBase Podcast welcomes back Hiss Golden Messenger’s MC Taylor for an interview about his new album, ‘Quietly Blowing It’ and much more.

What led HGM frontman M.C. Taylor to put out a holiday album on the heels of Quietly Blowing It just four months prior? “Big, brash holiday music—the type that we hear in big-box stores in the middle of December—has never resonated with me, and this past year it felt absolutely dissonant,” Taylor explained. “I wanted to make a seasonal record that felt more in step with the way that I, and so many others, experience this time of year: quiet, contemplative, searching and bittersweet. The intention was to make a seasonal record with vibe.” Read a full note from MC Taylor here.

O Come All Ye Faithful features contributions from Aoife O’Donovan, Nathaniel Rateliff, Erin Rae, Buddy Miller and members of Hiss Golden Messenger’s extended family. All of the originals were arranged by Taylor to fit the HGM ethos. “‘Grace’ is about keeping a light for those that are struggling or lost or confused or grieving: the gone ones, our children, poets, teachers,” M.C. wrote regarding the album’s lead single. “My friends Nathaniel Rateliff, Aoife O’Donovan and Sonyia Turner help me on the choruses.”

Stream Hiss Golden Messenger’s “Grace” below:

O Come All Ye Faithful Tracklist

  1. Hung Fire (MC Taylor)
  2. O Come All Ye Faithful
  3. Grace (MC Taylor)
  4. By The Lights Of St. Stephen
  5. Shine a Light (Spiritualized)
  6. Joy to the World
  7. Silent Night
  8. Hanukkah Dance (Woody Guthrie)
  9. As Long As I Can See the Light (Creedence Clearwater Revival)
JamBase Collections