Hiatus Kaiyote Announces New Album ‘Mood Valiant’ & Shares Single

By Scott Bernstein Mar 17, 2021 7:55 am PDT

Australian jazz-funk act Hiatus Kaiyote return with the long-awaited album Mood Valiant on June 25 via Brainfeeder Records/Ninja Tune. The quartet — comprised of vocalist/guitarist Naomi “Nai Palm” Saalfield, bassist Paul Bender, drummer Perrin Moss and keyboardist Simon Mavin — previewed the 12-track LP by releasing its lead single, “Get Sun” featuring Arthur Verocai.

Mood Valiant marks Hiatus Kaiyote’s follow-up to 2015’s Choose Your Weapon. The four-piece initially started performing material from Mood Valiant during a tour for their 2015 LP. While backing tracks were mostly recorded by the fall of 2018, a health scare led to a lengthy pause as Nai was diagnosed with breast cancer during a U.S. tour. Saalfield returned to Australia, where she underwent life-saving surgery. The vocalist recovered and Hiatus Kaiyote completed Mood Valiant with a new outlook.

“When you think your life is going to be taken away from you, it makes you think about who you are,” Nai said. “I guess after the breast cancer scare I decided that I needed to prove to life that the offering I have is genuine. My only wish is to live and offer my experience of time and beauty.”

Hiatus Kaiyote recruited Brazilian arranger Arthur Verocai to contribute to “Get Sun.” Verocai arranged horns and strings for Mood Valiant’s lead single.

Stream “Get Sun” below:

Mood Valiant Tracklist

  1. Flight Of The Tiger Lily
  2. Sip Into Something Soft
  3. Chivalry Is Not Dead
  4. And We Go Gentle
  5. Get Sun (feat. Arthur Verocai)
  6. All The Words We Don’t Say
  7. Hush Rattle
  8. Rose Water
  9. Red Room
  10. Sparkle Tape Break Up
  11. Stone Or Lavender
  12. Blood And Marrow
JamBase Collections