Grateful Dead To Release Show From 1971 Felt Forum Run As ‘Dave’s Picks Volume 22’

By Scott Bernstein Jan 6, 2017 10:01 am PST

While the Grateful Dead have yet to issue the 21st installment of their Dave’s Picks live archival series, which as reported will contain the band’s April 2, 1973 performance, the group has announced the contents of Dave’s Picks, Volume 22. The second Dave’s Picks of 2017 will feature the Grateful Dead’s famed December 7, 1971 show from the Felt Forum in New York City.

The Dead are still selling 2017 Dave’s Picks subscriptions for the next two weeks, which is important because Volume 22 features a subscriber-only bonus disc. Since the Grateful Dead’s December 7, 1971 show was relatively short, most of the band’s second set from the previous night is included on Volume 22 while the bulk of the rest of the December 6, 1971 show appears on the bonus disc.

Dave’s Picks, Volume 22 was announced via an email from the band. Here’s the entire part relating to Volume 22:

With only two weeks left to get in on the subscriptions for Dave’s Picks 2017, we wanted to reveal the Dave’s Picks 22 show selection, just selected in the first few days of 2017. As you know, the first Dave’s Picks of 2017, Volume 21, is the complete show from 4/2/73 in Boston. We’re following that up with the complete show from 12/7/71 at the Felt Forum in New York City, from the famous run of shows in the lower level of Madison Square Garden. Tapes from this run of shows have circulated for decades, but never sounding like this. Featuring the return of Pigpen, who had been absent from the Dead since 8/26/71, the show features five Pigpen-sung songs, including what is arguably the best version of Smokestack Lightning. Every song from this show is played to perfection, presenting definitive live versions of every song played from this era. Because the show is relatively short at “only” two and a half hours, we have added the bulk of the second set from the previous night, including a massive Other One jam, and exceptional renditions of Wharf Rat and Uncle John’s Band. And to make this release akin to a mini-box set, the 2017 Bonus Disc will feature the bulk of the rest of this 12/6/71 show, giving you two nearly-complete shows from one of the most requested and sought-after runs in Grateful Dead history. And if you think Dave’s Picks 21 and 22 are going to blow your minds, wait until you see what we have in store for Volumes 23 and 24. We’ve started narrowing ideas down for those two, and we’re as excited as ever about the direction of this series…

If the past release schedule holds true, you can expect Dave’s Picks, Volume 22 to ship in early April. Subscriptions are available here.


Grateful Dead at Felt Forum

Set 1
  • Cold Rain and Snow  
  • Beat It on Down the Line  
  • Mr. Charlie
  • Sugaree  
  • Jack Straw
  • Next Time You See Me  
  • Tennessee Jed
  • El Paso  
  • Brokedown Palace
  • Run Rudolph Run  
  • You Win Again  
  • Cumberland Blues
  • Casey Jones
Set 2
  • Sugar Magnolia
  • Ramble On Rose
  • Big Boss Man  
  • Mexicali Blues  
  • Brown-Eyed Women
  • Me and My Uncle  
  • Smokestack Lightning  
  • Deal  
  • Truckin'
  • Not Fade Away  
  • Going Down the Road Feelin' Bad  
  • Not Fade Away  
  • Encore:
  • One More Saturday Night  
JamBase Collections