Grateful Dead To Release ‘RFK Stadium 1989 Box’ Set, Shares ‘Touch Of Grey’ Video


On November 10 the Grateful Dead will issue a new archival release entitled RFK Stadium 1989 Box. The six-CD set compiles the legendary band’s performances at RFK Stadium in Washington D.C. on July 12 and 13, 1989.

Tonight, in select theaters around the country, footage of the Dead’s July 12, 1989 concert at RFK will screen as part of the annual Meet-Up At The Movies event. The RFK Stadium 1989 Box features recordings culled from the band’s master 24-track analog tapes, which were mixed at TRI Studios by Jeffrey Norman and mastered in HDCD by David Glasser. In addition to the six-disc physical release, the box set will also be available for download in Apple Lossless and FLAC 192/24 formats.

“RFK Stadium ’89 fell right in the middle of one of the best tours of the last 15 years of Grateful Dead performances, with these shows being the sixth and seventh of an 11-show tour,” said David Lemieux, Grateful Dead archivist and the box set’s producer. “This tour is widely considered the start of a nine month period of sustained excellence, which ran from Summer ’89 through Spring ’90. The RFK shows are as good as any of the more famous shows from this period, including July 4 in Buffalo, July 7 in Philadelphia, and the Alpine run. When Bob Weir has asked me to provide copies of Grateful Dead songs to give to his bandmates to learn and rehearse, he almost always requests Summer ’89, and I’ve often drawn upon the RFK shows for this purpose. It’s really that good!”

Jerry Garcia and Bob Weir along with drummers Mickey Hart and Bill Kreutzmann plus bassist Phil Lesh and keyboardist Brent Mydland were joined by future member Bruce Hornsby during both RFK ‘89 shows. Hornsby can be heard adding accordion on a rare second set “Sugaree” as well as “Man Smart (Woman Smarter)” during the first night. Bruce showed up on July 13 to add accordion to “Tennessee Jed” and “Stuck Inside Of Mobile With The Memphis Blues Again.” Watch “Touch Of Grey” open the July 12, 1989 show below:

RFK Stadium 1989 Box Tracklist

R.F.K. Stadium, Washington, D.C. (7/12/89)

  1. Touch Of Grey
  2. New Minglewood Blues
  3. Mississippi Half-Step Uptown Toodeloo
  4. Just Like Tom Thumb’s Blues
  5. Far From Me
  6. Cassidy
  7. Friend Of The Devil
  8. Promised Land
  9. Sugaree >
  10. Man Smart, Woman Smarter
  11. Ship Of Fools >
  12. Estimated Prophet >
  13. Eyes Of The World >
  14. Drums >
  15. I Need A Miracle >
  16. Dear Mr. Fantasy >
  17. Black Peter >
  18. Turn On Your Lovelight >
  19. Black Muddy River

R.F.K. Stadium, Washington, D.C. (7/13/89)

  1. Hell In A Bucket
  2. Cold Rain And Snow
  3. Little Red Rooster
  4. Tennessee Jed
  5. Stuck Inside Of Mobile With The Memphis Blues Again
  6. To Lay Me Down
  7. Let It Grow
  8. He’s Gone
  9. Looks Like Rain
  10. Terrapin Station
  11. Drums
  12. Space
  13. I Will Take You Home
  14. The Other One
  15. Wharf Rat
  16. Throwing Stones
  17. Good Lovin’
  18. U.S. Blues