G. Love Announces New Album ‘Philadelphia Mississippi’ & Shares Single

Watch the official music video for “Love From Philly.”

By Nate Todd Apr 20, 2022 8:15 am PDT

G. Love will issue a new album, Philadelphia Mississippi, via Philadelphonic Records/Thirty Tigers on June 24. The Philadelphia-born singer-songwriter also shared the single “Love From Philly” featuring Schoolly D, Chuck Treece and Trenton Ayers.

G. Love, the stage name of Garrett Dutton, tapped North Mississippi Allstars’ Luther Dickinson to produce Philadelphia Mississippi. Dutton has a history with the Dickinsons as Luther’s father, famed producer Jim Dickinson, helmed G. Love & Special Sauce’s 1995 album Coast To Coast Motel. Along with Schoolly D, Chuck Treece and Trenton Ayers, the 13-track LP also features an eclectic array of special guests including Dickinson, Alvin Youngblood Hart, Cam Kimbrough, Christone “Kingfish” Ingram, Jontavious Willis, R.L. Boyce, Freddie Foxx, Speech, Sharde Thomas and Southern Avenue drummer/singer Tikyra Jackson.

As the title suggests, Philadelphia Mississippi bridges the hip hop and funk of G. Love’s native Philly with the delta and hill country blues varieties of Mississippi.

“I grew up in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, but I’ve spent my entire life steeped in the music of the Delta,” G. Love said, “so the idea that there was this whole other Philadelphia down there always fascinated me. For the last thirty years, I’ve wanted to make a pilgrimage—not just a musical one, but a spiritual one—to the heart of the blues, and that’s exactly what this album is.”

G. Love also detailed the single “Love From Philly”:

“Love From Philly” was originally written for the Love From Philly benefit which benefitted struggling artists during the pandemic. As the year progressed it became a live staple. Later on, I tapped Chuck Treece and legendary Philadelphia hip-hop artist Schoolly D to contribute verses turning a live jam into an iconic Philly Classic. Along with Mississippi son Trenton Ayers’s melt-your-face lead guitar and BGVs from Memphis based Tikyra Jackson, ‘Love From Philly’ is a hip hop-blues instant hit.

“Love From Philly” arrived with an official music video. Watch it below:

Philadelphia Mississippi Tracklist:

  1. Love From Philly (feat. Chuck Treece, Schoolly D and Trenton Ayers)
  2. Mississippi (feat. Speech, Alvin Youngblood Hart and R.L. Boyce)
  3. My Ball (feat. Freddie Foxx and Jontavious Willis)
  4. Guitar Man (feat. Christone “Kingfish” Ingram)
  5. Kickin’
  6. HipHopHarpin’ (feat. Alvin Youngblood Hart)
  7. Laughing In The Sunshine
  8. I Ain’t Living (feat. Tikyra Jackson)
  9. Lemonades (feat. Cam Kimbrough, Luther Dickinson and Chuck Treece)
  10. If My Mind Don’t Change (feat. Sharde Thomas)
  11. Sauce Up! (feat. Trenton Ayers)
  12. The Philly Sound
  13. Shouts Out

G. Love is set to hit the road with O.A.R. and Dispacth this summer along with dates with his band The Juice and Special Sauce. Check out his 2022 itinerary:

Loading tour dates

JamBase Collections