Exclusive Premiere: The String Cheese Incident ‘Got What He Wanted’


On October 9 The String Cheese Incident will release the second installment of the Rhythm Of The Road series of live archival recordings. Rhythm Of The Road: Volume 2, Live In Las Vegas features highlights from SCI’s two-night stand at The Aladdin Theatre in Las Vegas in July of 2001. Today, JamBase is pleased to premiere a taste of the new release – a 22-minute “Got What He Wanted.”

“We are excited to be releasing the second installment of our Rhythm of the Road live series,” bass player Keith Moseley tells JamBase. “It’s always fun to listen back through the archives and find old shows that we consider to be important shows in our band’s history. Las Vegas is always a big party and these shows in 2001 were no different. It was July in Vegas so it was really hot. Everyone was really going for it musically, stretching out some long jams during these late night shows. This compilation features some songs we’ve never really officially released like ‘Dirk,’ ‘Cedar Laurels,’ ‘Howard,’ ‘Windy Mountain,’ ‘Turn This Around’ and many others. We are real proud of it.”

Rhythm Of The Road: Volume 2, Live In Las Vegas contains audio that has been completely re-mixed and re-mastered. While Moseley mentioned a number of songs on the release that the band has never put out, the set also includes a bevy of long-time fan favorites. One of which is “Got What He Wanted,” a song penned by keyboardist Kyle Hollingsworth that originally appeared on SCI’s 1998 album ‘Round The Wheel. The String Cheese Incident gave “Got What He Wanted” the treatment on July 27, 2001 at the Aladdin Theatre, where they showed off their rock-heavy jamming style of the era in expanding the song beyond the 20-minute mark. Strap yourself in an take a listen to “Got What He Wanted” off Rhythm Of The Road: Volume 2, Live In Las Vegas:

Head here to pre-order the new release and earn a chance to win a number of prizes including tickets to the band’s New Year’s Run in Colorado.

Rhythm Of The Road: Volume 2 – Tracklist

    Disc 1

  1. Intro
  2. San Josè
  3. Got What He Wanted
  4. Freedom Jazz Dance
  5. Why You Been Gone So Long
  6. Cedar Laurels
  7. Sittin’ On Top of the World
  8. SKAT
  9. Black and White

    Disc 2

  1. Get Down Tonight
  2. Howard
  3. Windy Mountain
  4. Turn This Around
  5. Daryl

    Disc 3

  1. Just Like Tom Thumb’s Blues
  2. Desert Passage Jam
  3. Come As You Are
  4. Let It Go
  5. Dirk
  6. Mouna Bowa
  7. Aladdin Jam
  8. Shantytown