Exclusive Premiere: Nigel Hall Shares Track From Solo Debut


We’re just a few weeks away from the long-awaited release of keyboardist Nigel Hall debut studio album, Ladies & Gentlemen… Nigel Hall. The LP is due out in digital format November 13 and vinyl November 27 via Feel Music with a pre-order available now through Pledge Music and iTunes. Today, we’re excited to premiere a track off the Eric Krasno-produced album.

The keyboardist burst onto the scene with his always-impressive, uplifting performances with Lettuce. He has gone on to collaborate with Warren Haynes, Ledisi, Jon Cleary, Soulive, Oteil Burbridge, Roosevelt Collier, the Soul Rebels and many others. Nigel is a human musical encyclopedia of soul music, so it speaks highly of Ann Peebles’ “I Can’t Stand The Rain” that the 1974 hit is one of just ten songs the keyboardist chose to record for his solo debut. Hall shows off multi-octave range on his silky smooth vocal delivery of “I Can’t Stand The Rain” over a thumping, bass- heavy and horn-infused arrangement of the song. Listen to Nigel Hall’s “I Can’t Stand The Rain”:

Hall recruited many of his musical friends to create Ladies & Gentlemen… Nigel Hall. Not only did Eric Krasno of Soulive and Lettuce fame produce the LP, but it contains musical contributions from the likes of Shady Horns saxophonist Ryan Zoidis, Lettuce drummer Adam Deitch, keyboardist Ivan Neville, guitarist Charlie Hunter, The Roots drummer Ahmir “?uestlove” Thompson and Lettuce/Tedeschi Trucks Band vocalist Alecia Chakour. The 10- track effort contains a mix of classic soul covers and originals, some of which were penned with Krasno.

Nigel Hall will celebrate his solo debut with a series of album release parties. Hall will host both 8 p.m. and 10:30 p.m. shows at the famed Blue Note in New York City November 16. The keyboardist than brings the party to his adopted hometown of New Orleans on December 1 at Tipitina’s. Finally, Nigel Hall wraps the celebration of the new LP at Cervantes’ Other Side in Denver on December 2.

Ladies & Gentlemen… Nigel Hall Tracklist

  1. Gimme A Sign 3:23
  2. Don’t Change 3:45
  3. Too Sweet 5:23
  4. Never Gonna Let You Go 3:22
  5. Try 4:16
  6. Lay Away 5:56
  7. Let’s Straighten It Out 4:03
  8. I Just Wanna Love You featuring Alecia Chakour 3:23
  9. I Can’t Stand The Rain 4:06
  10. Call On Me 4:16

Tour Dates for
Nigel Hall