Exclusive Premiere: Jerry Garcia Band Covers ‘Lay Down Sally’ on ‘GarciaLive Vol. Eight’

By Scott Bernstein Feb 1, 2017 7:15 am PST

The next installment of the Jerry Garcia live archival series GarciaLive will feature a complete performance from the Jerry Garcia Band’s Fall 1991 Tour. GarciaLive Volume Eight, due on March 10 via Round Records, contains the JGB’s visit to the Bradley Center in Milwaukee on November 23, 1991. JamBase is pleased to premiere a cover of Eric Clapton’s “Lay Down Sally” off GarciaLive Volume Eight.

The Jerry Garcia Band lineup from Fall ’91 is what keyboardist Melvin Seals considers “the magic band” as Garcia and Seals are joined by drummer Dave Kemper, bassist John Kahn and vocalists Jackie LaBranch and Gloria Jones. On GarciaLive Volume Eight we listen to the group work through a number of JGB repertoire classics and a few rarities. The band opens with “Cats Under The Stars” and fit Garcia/Hunter-penned chestnuts “They Love Each Other,” “Reuben & Cerise” and “Deal” into the first set along with covers of Clapton’s “Lay Down Sally,” The Band’s “The Night They Drove Old Dixie Down,” The Drifters’ “Money Honey” and Charles Johnson’s “My Sisters & Brothers.”

The second set begins with what turned out to be the Jerry Garcia Band’s last version of “Bright Side Of The Road” by Van Morrison. Garcia and his band then work through Bruce Cockburn’s “Waiting For A Miracle,” Jimmy McCracklin’s “Think,” a 13-minute take on The Manhattans’ “Shining Star,” the tour debut of Norton Buffalo’s “Ain’t No Bread In The Breadbox,” gospel standard “That Lucky Old Sun” and Bob Dylan’s “Tangled Up In Blue.” The crispy release was recorded by John Cutler and is accompanied by a package that includes photos by Bob Minkin and an essay by Dean Budnick. Head here to pre-order.

Listen to “Lay Down Sally” from GarciaLive Volume Eight:

Home v2

GarciaLive Volume Eight Tracklist

Set One

  1. Cats Under The Stars
  2. They Love Each Other
  3. Lay Down Sally
  4. The Night They Drove Old Dixie Down
  5. Reuben & Cerise
  6. Money Honey
  7. My Sisters & Brothers
  8. Deal

Set Two

  1. Bright Side Of The Road
  2. Waiting For A Miracle
  3. Think
  4. Shining Star
  5. Ain’t No Bread In The Breadbox
  6. That Lucky Old Sun
  7. Tangled Up In Blue
JamBase Collections