Exclusive Premiere: Jerry Garcia Band Covers ‘Evangeline’ On ‘GarciaLive Vol. Ten’


On February 23, Round Records will release GarciaLive Volume Ten. The archival Jerry Garcia Band concert recording presents the group’s May 20, 1990 concert at the Hilo Civic Auditorium in Hilo, Hawaii. JamBase is pleased to premiere a cover of Los Lobos’ “Evangeline” which appears on GarciaLive Volume Ten.

Jerry Garcia frequently visited Hawaii following his diabetic coma in 1986, but rarely performed in public on the islands. Grateful Dead drummer Bill Kreutzmann introduced the late guitarist to scuba diving, which Garcia quickly took up as a hobby. Garcia and Kreutzmann had appeared with the Grateful Dead for a series of shows in 1970. Garcia then brought his solo band to Hawaii for performances held in May 1990. The Jerry Garcia Band performed at the Waikiki Shell in Honolulu on May 12 and eight days later at the Hilo Civic Auditorium.

Joining Garcia for the Hilo show, which was a benefit for the Ocean Recreational Council of Hawaii, were Melvin Seals on keyboards, John Kahn on bass, David Kemper on drums and vocalists Gloria Jones and Jacklyn LaBranch.

Also included on GarciaLive Vol. Ten are JGB renditions of reggae covers such as Jimmy Cliff’s “The Harder They Come” and Peter Tosh’s “Stop That Train” along with R&B/gospel favorites such as “Like A Road Leading Home,” “That Lucky Old Sun” and “My Sisters and Brothers.” Additionally, the release two-CD set being made available for download and streaming comes with JGB arrangements of several Bob Dylan originals including “Tough Mama,” “Knockin’ On Heaven’s Door,” “Forever Young” and “Tangled Up In Blue,” as well as a rare version of “Tears Of Rage,” a song Dylan co-wrote with Richard Manuel that The Band recorded for 1968’s Music From Big Pink.

Here’s an excerpt from the liner notes essay penned by longtime Grateful Dead publicist and biographer Dennis McNally:

The eighteen songs the band played in Hilo represent a fairly standard selection from the JGB repertoire. Even though he sang all the leads, his side bands represented a break from the responsibility of serving the giant dragon that was the Grateful Dead. In some ways, it was a vacation, a busman’s holiday. That meant, for instance, that he focused on playing other people’s songs, so that there are only three originals here (“They Love Each Other,” “Run for the Roses,” and “Deal”).

That repertoire was grounded in a deep sampling of some of the best of the African American tradition: two Motown R&B standards — “How Sweet It Is” and Smokey Robinson’s “The Way You Do the Things You Do” — plus an older R&B classic, Hank Ballard’s “Tore Up.” There’s also Los Lobos’s wonderful tribute to the “queen of make believe,” the all-American wandering sprite, “Evangeline.”

Follow-this link to pre-order GarciaLive Volume Ten: May 20th, 1990 Hilo Civic Auditorium. Listen to “Evangeline” below:

GarciaLive Volume Ten: May 20th, 1990 Hilo Civic Auditorium Tracklist

Disc One

  1. How Sweet It Is (To Be Loved By You)
  2. They Love Each Other
  3. Tough Mama
  4. Like A Road Leading Home
  5. Run For The Roses
  6. The Way You Do The Things You Do
  7. My Sisters & Brothers
  8. Knockin’ On Heaven’s Door
  9. Deal

Disc Two

  1. The Harder They Come
  2. Forever Young
  3. Stop That Train
  4. Tore Up Over You
  5. Tears Of Rage
  6. Evangeline
  7. That Lucky Old Sun
  8. Waiting For A Miracle
  9. Tangled Up In Blue