Erik Deutsch Announces New Album ‘Falling Flowers’ & Shares Single


Leftover Salmon keyboardist Erik Deutsch will release a new solo album Falling Flowers through LoHi Records on September 14. An animated video the record’s lead single and title track featuring vocals by Deutsch’s wife Victoria Reed can be viewed below.

Deutsch worked with a core band composed of trombonist Brian Drye, guitarist Avi Bortnick, drummer Tony Mason, bassist Jesse Murphy and saxophist/clarinet player Mike McGinnis at Trout Recording in Brooklyn. Sessions were assisted by engineers Bryce Goggin and Adam Sachs and in addition to Reed, other guests appearing on the record include guitarist Scott Metzger and Deutsch’s LoS band mate, banjo player Andy Thorn.

“I wanted a studio with an analog board and I wanted great drum tones,” Deutsch stated. “I needed a place with a good enough piano, not the best piano, but a good enough piano … Bryce is a recording genius, he’s made a lot of cool records there in a lot of different genres. He’s fast, his gear works, his drum sounds are amazing, there’s a lot of bleed so it’s got that vibe — I wanted to make the record feel like when we play live, and have that energy, and I think we accomplished that.”

Directed by Josh Clark, watch the animated video for the single “Falling Flowers” here:

Falling Flowers Tracklist

  1. Jump Change
  2. Ghostfeather
  3. Falling Flowers
  4. Scratch Out
  5. Little Bell
  6. Big Bongos
  7. Amor Eterno
  8. Mel’s Drive In
  9. Tiny Lion