Elvis Costello & The Imposters ‘Purse’ EP Features Co-Writes With Dylan, Bacharach, Cash & McCartney

Elvis Costello & The Imposters will release Purse, an EP of previously unreleased songs, for Record Store Day on April 13. The four-track release features tunes that Costello collaborated on with Paul McCartney and Burt Bacharach as well as new versions of songs written by Bob Dylan and Johnny Cash

The A-side of 12-inch release showcases Bacharach and Costello’s “Everyone’s Playing House” and “The Lovers That Never Were,” which was co-written with McCartney. The flip side features “If You Love Me” and “Down On The Bottom,” which each contain music composed by Elvis.

“If You Love Me” was written by Cash and appeared on his posthumously released 2014 studio album Out Among The Stars. “Down On The Bottom” was penned by Dylan and originally appeared on the 2014 album Lost On The River: The New Basement Tapes, a project that Costello took part in that also featured Rhiannon Giddens, Taylor Goldsmith, Jim James and Marcus Mumford.

Purse Track List

    Side One

  1. Everyone’s Playing House (Bacharach/Costello)
  2. The Lovers That Never Were (McCartney/Costello)

Side Two

  1. If You Love Me (Words: Johnny Cash – Music: Elvis Costello)
  2. Down On The Bottom (Words: Bob Dylan – Music: Elvis Costello)